Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Cat toilet training - help

Mertin
September 27th, 2010, 01:19 AM
Hello all this is my first time here .. looks like a great fourm!

here is the story.. been working on toilet training for webby (2 yr old domestic) since we live in a condo and she is an illigal resident so bringing in litter and taking it out to trash as well as the smell just wasn't working well.

we started training her in June and we have made it to the point of just her squatting on the seat and doing her business into the toilet water.
well some of it.. seems she will only urinate in the toilet and will only poop on the floor.. what are we missing here and how can this be tackled to correct it?

thanks

Love4himies
September 27th, 2010, 06:51 AM
What are you missing? That it is not natural for a cat to go to the bathroom the same as a human. Toilets are designed for humans, litter boxes for cats. Your cat can easily fall into the toilet and when their paws are wet, they may not be able to get out. Then you will have to turn to a litter box as your kitty may never use the toilet again due to the fear.

As for the kitty litter, how about purchasing the flushable kind (I have never used it so I can't comment on the quality or recommend brands)? As for bringing it up to your unit, have a plastic container in your car that you can put the bag/box in so nobody sees it.

14+kitties
September 27th, 2010, 08:48 AM