Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

SPCA Spay/Neuter Clinic in Newmarket

LauraK
September 21st, 2010, 07:36 PM
Hello!

I am just wondering if anyone here has had pets fixed at the SPCA Low Cost Spay/Neuter Clinic in Newmarket and if they were happy with their experience?

I have a wonderful vet who spays/neuters cheaply for me and I will continue to use her for my own cats/kittens but I've become known as "the crazy cat lady" to a few barns/racehorse training centres in the area (where cats tend to collect and reproduce quickly) after helping to re-home a bunch of kittens and cats this summer and am continuing to get calls from barns who have kittens that needs homes. The $50 spay is looking pretty good right now, especially when they're not my cats (and I am a full-time student!). It breaks my heart to see these poor young things have litter after litter so while I can't take them all in, people at these barns are willing to feed them (and even chip in for vaccines/deworming/spays) so I figure at least I can help break the cycle.

So if anyone has any opinions or insight on this clinic, please let me know!

Thanks so much!

aslan
September 21st, 2010, 07:47 PM
hey LauraK,,,i had my big boy Quincy snipped at the clinic in newmarket,,,I have nothing but good things to say with the experience,,i had to drop him off by 8am i think it was and had to pick him up by six..he was still abit woozy but was good to go,,he had no pain problems,,no incision issues,,all went well..Only thing i would suggest is go in in person,,explain the situation and see if they can help you out with scheduling..they usually have a lengthy wait list.

14+kitties
September 22nd, 2010, 04:23 PM