Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Puppy Mill Pet Shop

downloader
September 11th, 2004, 05:10 PM
Today I when to Yogi pet shop in Montreal on Jean Talon street. What a horror. Over crowed puppys in pens and cages, some had 9 puppys in a 2x4 pen, all with wire bottoms. All the dogs were sold as pure breeds. There were all kinds , They looked like pure breeds but none of them had papers or were registered. The prices were way too high, not that I would buy a puppy from a place like that. A Chihuahua was selling for $1000. The other animals were no better, I seen a fish tank with about 30 zebra danios in a 2.5 gal. The rabbits were about 10 to a cage. Can anyone do something about this place?

SunnySpirit
September 11th, 2004, 06:09 PM
I'm no expert, but I think you should at least tell someone. Like the police perhaps. The police need to have some really good evidence that that place isn't suitable before they can do anything. But I would try. Poor little puppies :(

Luba
September 11th, 2004, 07:49 PM
Contact your local humane society and file a complaint. Write down everything that you saw and tell them immediately.

Lucky Rescue
September 11th, 2004, 09:42 PM
The Montreal SPCA is ON Jean Talon. Please call them right away and tell them about this.

Keep calling them and checking the conditions at this pet shop until they get off their butts and do something.

Have your friends call about this place too!!

Donna Marie
September 11th, 2004, 09:44 PM
Not that you could just walk in there with a camera, but if you can do it. OR if you know someone who has a camera phone, get in there and take some pics.

goldenblaze
September 11th, 2004, 10:42 PM
Not that you could just walk in there with a camera, but if you can do it. OR if you know someone who has a camera phone, get in there and take some pics.