Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Not sure what to except with spaying my cat.

GoreyDemented
August 4th, 2010, 08:18 PM
Hi,

I'm new to this thread. I joined because everyone here seems very knowledgable.

I rescused a cat, named Toby. She is about 4-5 years old. She turned out to be pregnant when I rescued her. She gave birth to 5 lovely little ones. About a week after, she stopped eatting and being able to walk; the vet informed me she had a severe infection which was exaserbated by the fact she wasn't give proper cat or attention from her previous owner(s).

She's going in to be spayed on Thursday (next Thursday). I'm rather worried. I've never had a female cat before. She is very small and a lot older than the majority (that I know of) of females who are spayed. I'm not sure what I should do to prepare (Make her a new bed to sleep in? Watch her a lot? What if she wont eat..?). I'm just not sure what to expect and I'm rather nervous.

I'd appericate any advice, thank you.

mikischo
August 4th, 2010, 08:59 PM
Welcome to the forum and thank you for rescuing this kitty.:thumbs up

How is Toby doing now? Has she fully recovered from the infection? Is she now eating well again and able to walk normally?

How old are the kittens now? Ideally it is preferable to wait until about 4 weeks after the kittens have been weaned or usually when the kittens are about 12 weeks old.

Has the vet run any tests to ensure she is now in good health and should have no problems tolerating the anesthetic? 4 or 5 years isn't old and cats much older than Toby regularly undergo procedures that require anesthetic without issues.

Ozzie
August 4th, 2010, 09:00 PM
Toby should be fine with lots of loving and attention .
Are the kittens still there? A new bed is a good idea . :)
edit Mikischo beat me by a minute !

14+kitties
August 4th, 2010, 09:17 PM