Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

How does one become a "Dog Trainer"

Babs
September 3rd, 2004, 11:54 AM
I went to "Puppy School" the other night with my aunt, who is working on her adorable new 10 month old Jack Russell Terrier.

My aunt kept saying to me, "You could do this! I've seen you work with dogs and I know you would be good at it!"

I have to admit, I had a blast there. Although there were different nuances between how I've trained my dogs... different hand signals etc., I got to thinking how much I'd enjoy doing something like that.

So, as a question to you experts out there, what are the steps to take in becoming a "dog trainer"?

heeler's rock!
September 3rd, 2004, 03:46 PM
Good for you Babs! In Canada, you don't have to be certified to be a dog trainer. There aren't even that many places that offer a good, comprehensive course. Almost any jo schmo off the street can become one if they want. I am a dog trainer, but I went to school for it. I learned from an amazing trainer named Brad Pattison of www.yuppypuppy.com. He doesn't use treats, clickers, or any other "masking" techniques. A good trainer is one who can gain the dog's respect without bribing (sp?) it. It's like you giving your kids $5.00 everytime they do their homework. What happens when you want them to do it for free? I wouldn't recommend on-line or distance education courses. Also, do not fall for the ones done through Petcetera and stuff. If you want more info. on Brad or Yuppy Puppy, let me know! There were 5 of us that took his course, and it has been awesome!!! :D

Writing4Fun
September 3rd, 2004, 08:08 PM