Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Explosive diarrhea! Grrrr!!

cassiek
December 22nd, 2009, 08:02 PM
I just have to rant! :wall:

I have been feeding my dogs on the raw diet for about 2 months. I have been taking things slow, trying to keep the diarrhea/tummy upsets/etc. to a minimum. Well, I gave them Sardines on Sunday evening... BIG mistake! :frustrated: Apparently NONE of my dogs do well on sardines (at least not that much at once) because I came home Monday evening and my 2 dogs that are left out while I am gone had explosive diarrhea EVERYWHERE in the living room! Ugh! :yell: Took me almost 2 hours to get most of it cleaned up and I still need to rent a carpet cleaner!!

Ewwwww... bleh! :yuck:

I have never seen that much crap in my life! We did rice/pumpkin most of today... hopefully it passes... don't know if I can stand to clean that up again... I might fall over and die! :rip: :laughing:

growler~GateKeeper
December 23rd, 2009, 12:39 AM
Oh yuck! :yuck:

I think it's safe to say you'll stay away from sardines from now on :rolleyes: :laughing: :o

How have their poops been otherwise?

Did you start with a single protein source (ie just chicken) for 10-14 days before introducing a new one?

cassiek
December 24th, 2009, 01:28 AM
Hi growler,

Yes sardines are OUT... although I now think I may have tried to introduce too much at once, so eventually (and this may be for quite some time) I might try them again but ALOT less at once...! :wall:

Poops before were good... a little softer once in awhile, but fairly firm. And they have since improved since this incident :thumbs up