Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Ok computer peeps HEEEEELLLLPPPP!!!

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 07:39 PM
Windows 7 Upgrade-just installed...now stuck in an endless "reboot loop" where we can't even select safe mode or ANY mode for that matter...just error message...reboot...error message...reboot...AUGH!!!!

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 07:41 PM
I just had this problem 3 weeks ago. But never ugraded to windows 7, it was actually a windows update that said i had to restart. I took mine to tiger direct to be fixed but they didn't tell me what caused the problem :sad:

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 07:48 PM
Was this just an update to Win 7 or were you updating to Win 7 from another OS?

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 08:06 PM
We had vista and did an update to 7 from there.

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 08:12 PM
What's the error message? Did you try to google it?

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 08:15 PM
oh we googled. And found a bunch of people who's computers were, and still are, useless for a week or two. I'm on hold with windows tech support now.

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 08:19 PM
Ouch! You weren't trying to install a 64-bit version on a 32-bit machine were you?

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 08:21 PM
no, they're both 64 bit

I wonder how long I'll be on hold? :rolleyes:

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 08:23 PM
To pass the time we could play 20 questions. :rolleyes: :whistle:

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 08:53 PM
:laughing: Ok I finally spoke to a person....then another...then another...I'm back on hold after proving to him that we are ACTUALLY for realzies in an endless reboot loop with no chance of escape.

He has put me on hold to "formulate an action plan". I bet 10$ that the plan will be "take it to the shop":frustrated:

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 08:58 PM
Wow. I'm good. Our computer is "not in a usable state" and he wants us to go to a "local technician". 10$ plz:yell:

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 09:02 PM
Sheesh. And did you ask him why it's not in a usable state? :frustrated:

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 09:05 PM
and what the hell caused this loop in the first place?

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 09:08 PM
It's not useable because we're unable to reinstall or make any changes.

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 09:11 PM
Yes, but did he admit it was their software that had that effect on your computer? Or is he blaming a sudden and conveniently timed failure of your hardware?

bendyfoot
November 12th, 2009, 09:24 PM
No one's admitting anything...but we are not alone in this problem, the tech forums are FULL of it.

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 09:26 PM
Whoopsie! :rolleyes: I think they're actively trying to make MAC converts... :shrug:

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 09:37 PM
Just a heads up, mine was in repair for almost a week, and if you have a lot of bookmarks make sure you get them to save all of that data as well as everything you want to keep on your computer!

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 09:40 PM
I just had this problem 3 weeks ago. But never ugraded to windows 7, it was actually a windows update that said i had to restart. I took mine to tiger direct to be fixed but they didn't tell me what caused the problem :sad:
Out of curiosity, dollface, what OS were you running at the time? Vista?

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 09:48 PM
I'm running Windows XP. Windows was doing regular updates, it finished and said to restart and it never restarted, just kept looping.

This thread describes what was happening: http://codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=24772

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 09:52 PM
My laptop originally came with Vista, but after having it for 2 weeks and only 1 gb of ram to run it, it kept crashing after a few hours, so i said F this and installed XP on it. My laptop has been much happier since the change!

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 10:11 PM
I loved my XP... :cloud9: *sigh*

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 10:17 PM
Switch back!! lol

hazelrunpack
November 12th, 2009, 10:20 PM
Unfortunately, finding a disk for a 64-bit compatible version of XP would be difficult--and my connection is so slow that I can't download it offline. So I make do with Vista. :shrug: At least I have enough RAM to run it, though!

dollface
November 12th, 2009, 11:44 PM
As long as you have enough ram that's good! I'm scared to try Vista again, and I don't think I will upgrade OSs until I get a new laptop and until the bugs are fixed, so prolly quite a few years wait lol