Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Rescue Pit Bull pees in the bed

Supercuger
August 18th, 2004, 04:01 PM
Hi--this is my first time on this site. I need help with our rescue pit bull. We got her at around 4 months old. She is now around 11 months old. She always goes outside to go potty and does not have accidents in the house. The only weird thing is, she loves to get up on the couch and on the bed when we go out and sit on the porch for a while without putting her in her kennel or when I accidentally fall asleep on the couch watching tv----she is not allowed on the couch or the bed and she knows it. She sneaks--which is ok but when she does sneak on the bed she pees a HUGE puddle right in the middle of the bed. We don't give her many opportunities to get up there by keeping an eye on her and also keep her in a kennel when we leave, so this has happened maybe four times spread out over the entire amount of time that we have had her. It hasn't been all at once or else I would think she has a infection or something. Also she just had a vet check and she is fine. Anybody have any ideas?
Supercuger

Lucky Rescue
August 18th, 2004, 05:28 PM
Do you have any other pets? The reason I ask is that MY rescued pit bull also peed on the bed quite a few times after my niece and her ferret slept in that bed. I assume it was a marking behavior when she found the strange scent there. I cleaned up the mattress and sheets, and put a gate up in the doorway of that room. She never did it again.

Since your dog has no bladder or urinary tract infection, I suggest you gate off the bedroom and living room, and thoroughly clean where she peed with something like Nature's Miracle, to really get rid of the odor. Keep these rooms out of bounds when you aren't home, and hopefully she will get over this.

I would love to see a pic of your girl!:)

heeler's rock!
August 18th, 2004, 07:47 PM