Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Just Popping In

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 04:48 PM
Howdy folks .....

I'm at a friend's place using her computer so I can let you know that I don't know how long it will be before I can get back here since my computer isn't working. :sad: :frustrated: I've had so many blue screen of death messages that I think I've come back from the dead. :wall:

A neighbour told me that I'm going to have to reinstall my Windows XP but my PCs for Dummies book says that all problems are fixable and you should never have to reinstall. :shrug: I have no idea how to reinstall anyway so I may as well try to solve the problem .....I always have liked a challenge. :D

I just googled the error messages I got and they both mention one of the causes can be memory related or else a hardware or software installation problem or a virus. I had previously been getting lots of messages for awhile now that the virtual memory was low ....I know I have the same problem with my own memory so maybe it's contagious. :laughing: Also, someone here told me it was nothing to worry about as windows would swap files or something like that but now I'm wondering if that really could be the reason why I'm getting the BSOD messages now. :confused:

Anyways, when I get home I'm going to put it into safe mode and run all my AV and Spyware programs and uninstall the Windows Desktop Search thing that I accidently installed :rolleyes: and see if that helps. :fingerscr

If anyone knows anything about the memory thing please post it here ....I told my friend that I'll be coming to visit here more often now. :laughing: Good thing she's :crazy: like me. :D

Miss you all :grouphug: and hope to be back soon. :fingerscr

hazelrunpack
August 22nd, 2009, 05:46 PM
If you can, back up all your files--I had the same flurry of messages and it turned out to be either the hard drive or the motherboard...sigh...I've had enough failures lately, too, so I can't remember which it turned out to be that time. :frustrated: Regardless, if it's your hard drive, when it crashes you can replace the hardware but all your data will be lost. And if it's your motherboard, it might be just as cheap to get an entirely new machine as it is to replace a motherboard. So you'll want your data backed up before it crashes so you can put it out on the new machine. :shrug:

I sure hope it's not the motherboard--hard drives are cheaper and easier to replace! :grouphug:

Just a thought--I've had similar memory messages when my CD drive was failing. When you get the BSOD, are you trying to read or write to a CD or a DVD?

Frenchy
August 22nd, 2009, 05:53 PM
Computer problems again Rainbow ? :wall: I'm so sorry :sad:

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:01 PM
rainbow hon, when it starts posting messages about memory, is it saying virual memory? If so that is how many mgs of ram you have. it's a little comp card you can put in your computer and increase. i'm with hazel, any pics, documents etc, that you can send to disks then delete with increase space thus increase ram.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:04 PM
Almost time for hubby to come pick me up so thought I'd check in here one more time before I leave. :D


If you can, back up all your files--I had the same flurry of messages and it turned out to be either the hard drive or the motherboard...sigh...I've had enough failures lately, too, so I can't remember which it turned out to be that time. :frustrated: Regardless, if it's your hard drive, when it crashes you can replace the hardware but all your data will be lost. And if it's your motherboard, it might be just as cheap to get an entirely new machine as it is to replace a motherboard. So you'll want your data backed up before it crashes so you can put it out on the new machine. :shrug:

When I get the BSODs it shuts down Windows and the mouse freezes and I have no keyboard control so I can't do anything. :yell: :frustrated:

I sure hope it's not the motherboard--hard drives are cheaper and easier to replace! :grouphug:

Being on a limited income these days won't allow for anything extra no matter what it is anyways. :o

Just a thought--I've had similar memory messages when my CD drive was failing. When you get the BSOD, are you trying to read or write to a CD or a DVD?

Nope ....I've never done anything with CDs or DVDs. In fact, I'd have to lookup in my PC Dummy book to figure out how. :laughing:

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:06 PM
rainbow hon, when it starts posting messages about memory, is it saying virual memory? If so that is how many mgs of ram you have. it's a little comp card you can put in your computer and increase. i'm with hazel, any pics, documents etc, that you can send to disks then delete with increase space thus increase ram.

Ummm ....could all the hundreds of emails I haven't deleted yet have anything to do with the low virtual memory messages? :o

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:08 PM
ummmmm i doubt it, you're with hotmail aren't you, thus they aren't stored on your comp. oh i have changed my email address to stop that stupid Foto one coming from my acct. i sent you an email with the new one, but guess that will have to wait.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:09 PM
Oh and I also googled about low virtual memory and found a website that said I could increase the size so I printed out the instructions to take home with me.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:11 PM
ummmmm i doubt it, you're with hotmail aren't you, thus they aren't stored on your comp. oh i have changed my email address to stop that stupid Foto one coming from my acct. i sent you an email with the new one, but guess that will have to wait.

I have a hotmail addy, a yahoo addy and also the Outlook Express one and they all have lots there.

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:12 PM
oh the outlook one may be contributing some. music, pictures stuff like that just eat memory. msn is a memory eater. large files, when was the last time you defragmented your comp

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:17 PM
The last time was a few months ago ....whenever I check it, it always says there's not enough to defrag at this time. :shrug:

But I'm going to do it when I get home after I run the AV and Spyware in safe mode as that's the only way I have any mouse control.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:20 PM
Hubby is here .....gotta go. :sad:

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:21 PM
delete anything and everything you can after the spy and av remember to empty the recycle bin..then defrag

14+kitties
August 22nd, 2009, 06:23 PM
Hey rainbow. Sorry you are having comp issues again. :wall:
Just to add some more advise .........
My stepson just read what you have written. He says if he were you he would reinstall your windows XP. It's the easiest thing to do. You should have a reinstall disc come with your comp when you got it. He said you have probably picked up a virus. It could also be that you have very little ram. If that is the case then you could add more ram but he doesn't think that is the problem.
My stepson is a comp geek. He got the highest marks in his classes in school and sells games he makes if it makes you feel better about his advice. My son in law is a bigger one but he's too far away to ask. :rolleyes:
Hope this makes at least a little bit of sense.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:26 PM
But I can only do stuff in Safe Mode cuz as soon as the Desktop comes up, I get the BSOD message and Windows shuts down right away.

IE Privacy Keeper empties the Recycle Bin every time I exit a Window so there shouldn't be anything there.

But I will defrag even if it says there isn't enough volume.

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:29 PM
i would try 14+s boys advice first hon, that way windows doesn't actually start up, so no desktop.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:30 PM
Hey rainbow. Sorry you are having comp issues again. :wall:
Just to add some more advise .........
My stepson just read what you have written. He says if he were you he would reinstall your windows XP. It's the easiest thing to do. You should have a reinstall disc come with your comp when you got it. He said you have probably picked up a virus. It could also be that you have very little ram. If that is the case then you could add more ram but he doesn't think that is the problem.
My stepson is a comp geek. He got the highest marks in his classes in school and sells games he makes if it makes you feel better about his advice. My son in law is a bigger one but he's too far away to ask. :rolleyes:
Hope this makes at least a little bit of sense.

Is it easy to reinstall for an old lady that has never done it and doesn't understand computer language? :o

luckypenny
August 22nd, 2009, 06:31 PM
:yell: wait rainbow, don't leave, same thing happened to my pc!!!!!!!!!!!!

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:32 PM
:yell: wait rainbow, don't leave, same thing happened to my pc!!!!!!!!!!!!

:laughing::laughing: i think your comp is a special case honey....

rainbow yes it's easy to do, it will give you step by step instructions.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:32 PM
:yell: wait rainbow, don't leave, same thing happened to my pc!!!!!!!!!!!!

What did you do? :D

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:35 PM
:laughing::laughing: i think your comp is a special case honey....

rainbow yes it's easy to do, it will give you step by step instructions.

But are the instructions written for people that understand computer language? I have a hard time with configuring AV/Spyware programs and just guess with some of it. :o

luckypenny
August 22nd, 2009, 06:36 PM
How old is your computer? DId you have something changed/repaired in it recently? DOn't know if you remember when I was having problems with mine? ANd it took half a dozen computer geeks and months to find the problem :frustrated:?

The motherboard and hard drive were not compatible....even though they were made by the same company....when it was all sent back, they kept changing the hard drive over and over and they kept burning out....it was simply an incompatibility issue :shrug:. I got a different motherboard installed, a new hard drive, and it's been fine ever since. And it was all covered under warranty cuz it was the company's fault.

Hang on, I'll get a pic of what the screen looked like before the computer would shut down automatically.

rainbow
August 22nd, 2009, 06:36 PM
Okay, really got to go now ....hubby is giving me looks. :rolleyes:

luckypenny
August 22nd, 2009, 06:41 PM
Here it is.

Everything on my screen would freeze, mouse, keyboard, etc...tehn this would appear....then the computer would shut down :shrug:.

Chris21711
August 22nd, 2009, 06:41 PM
is it easy to reinstall for an old lady that has never done it and doesn't understand computer language? :o

no!....56984 :d

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:44 PM
don't listen to that evil country bumpkin, it is really easy to do rainbow.

Chris21711
August 22nd, 2009, 06:50 PM
don't listen to that evil country bumpkin, it is really easy to do rainbow.

56985 Country Bumpkin :frustrated:


56986

aslan
August 22nd, 2009, 06:54 PM
56985 Country Bumpkin :frustrated:


56986

good point you're not a bumpkin,,,, ummmm flower child.:D

ancientgirl
August 22nd, 2009, 07:09 PM
With my old desktop I had to reinstall the start up hardware twice. It stinks because you lose everything on the reinstall, but both times it fixed my problems.

Diamondsmum
August 22nd, 2009, 07:41 PM
http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/2195 Difference between VIRTUAL memory & RAM

Reinstalling a FRESH copy of XP (reformatting your hardrive)

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_clean.asp WITH PICS :)


It also may be your hardrive is full thus unable to defrag also could be reason why your have BSOD (Blue screen of Death) if I could see which BSOD error is I could also tell you if its RAM related.

HTH rainbow

JanM
August 22nd, 2009, 08:40 PM
Here is yet another suggestion - when did you last delete all the .tmp, .bak, .001, .chk files? They could well be causing at least part of the problem.

rainbowsfriend
September 24th, 2009, 06:41 PM
Rainbow will be coming to my place early next week if she can't get her computer fixed when her company leaves this weekend she hopes.

Macomom
September 24th, 2009, 06:56 PM
Bendy calls me a Vice President Geek, but I would never recommend a software reinstall when virus/spyware issues are a possibility. It can eventually reappear, even after a reinstall.
Take the time to wipe out the virus and spyware problems, clean the system thoroughly and get a better anti virus. :2cents:

Melinda
September 24th, 2009, 06:58 PM
ccleaner really helps too

Macomom
September 24th, 2009, 07:02 PM
Yes, ccleaner is a great way to clean up old programs and tidy the registry.
I would go to a friends house and load up a USB key with all sorts of different types of spyware cleaners, etc and carefully use them one by one.
My DH contaminated our computer so badly once that it took 6 hours to clean, but with patience it can be done successfully.

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 04:09 PM
I think I fixed it. :eek: :fingerscr :D :D :D

Chaser
September 27th, 2009, 04:12 PM
I think I fixed it. :eek: :fingerscr :D :D :D

Seriously? YAY! You have so much to catch up on!!!!!

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 04:23 PM
Here it is.

Everything on my screen would freeze, mouse, keyboard, etc...tehn this would appear....then the computer would shut down :shrug:.

Nope, I didn't get a screen like that ....only a blue screen error message. :shrug:


http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/2195 Difference between VIRTUAL memory & RAM

Reinstalling a FRESH copy of XP (reformatting your hardrive)

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sg_clean.asp WITH PICS :)


It also may be your hardrive is full thus unable to defrag also could be reason why your have BSOD (Blue screen of Death) if I could see which BSOD error is I could also tell you if its RAM related.

HTH rainbow

Thanks DM ....I sort of understand the virtual memory now. :o

I got two separate BSOD messages. The first one I received over and over again ....

A problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer. A processor thread crucial to system operation has unexpectedly exited or been terminated. If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen restart your computer. If this screen appears again follow these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed. If this is a new installation ask your hardware or software manufacturer for any Windows updates you might need.

If the problems continue disable or remove any newly installed hardware or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. If you need to use Safe Mode to remove or disable components restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options and then select Safe Mode.

Technical Information:

STOP: 0x000000F4 (0x00000003, 0xFF768AD8, 0xFF768C4C, 0x805FB046)
Beginning dump of physical memory.
Physical memory dump complete.
Contact system administration or tech support.


The second one was the last one I received which only happened the one time. It started off the same as the first one but with this info at the end instead ....



KERNEL_DATA_INPAGE_ERROR

STOP: 0x0000007A (0xE1CAE168, 0xC000009A, 0xBF84AD49, 0x0DODE860)
Win32k.sys - Address B484AD49 base at BF800000, DateStamp 49e87572
Beginning dump of physical memory.
Physical memory dump complete.

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 04:30 PM
Oh, and after I got the last BSOD message I got this one ....

The system has recovered from a serious error. A log of this error has been created.

Error Signature:
BCCode:14 BCP1 00000003 BCP2: FF768AD8 BCP3: FF768C4C BCP4: 805FB046
OSVer: 5_1_2600 SP: 3_0
Product: 768_1

chico2
September 27th, 2009, 04:36 PM
Rainbow,since you fixed your problem,you are clearly 100% better at that than I am:thumbs up
Glad to see you back:grouphug:

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 04:44 PM
I also got a message saying something about detecting a problem with Winsock provider catalogue. And another saying error loading DLL a couple of times. :shrug:

This BSOD message originally started after a Windows Update included an installation of something called Windows Search 4 and the only way I could get rid of that was to click on "last known good configuration" when I was in safe mode.

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 04:48 PM
:headslap: I keep thinking of things :o ....

I also clicked on "Run" and then typed in "msconfig" and unchecked stuff that loads on startup and then added them back one by one and I found one of my spyware detectors was causing a problem. I've had it installed for a couple of months now so WHY would it just start causing problems now? :confused:

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 04:53 PM
Seriously? YAY! You have so much to catch up on!!!!!

Rainbow,since you fixed your problem,you are clearly 100% better at that than I am:thumbs up
Glad to see you back:grouphug:


Oooops ....I've been blabbering away and didn't even noticed your posts. :o

Chaser ....want to be the first to start filling me in? :laughing:

Chico ....I have a PCs for Dummies book that says there is no need to reinstall Windows as all problems are fixable. :shrug: Now I just hope I haven't spoken too soon. :D

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 05:02 PM
Here is yet another suggestion - when did you last delete all the .tmp, .bak, .001, .chk files? They could well be causing at least part of the problem.

What the heck are those? :o I use IE Privacy Keeper regularly ....would that delete them? :shrug:


Bendy calls me a Vice President Geek, but I would never recommend a software reinstall when virus/spyware issues are a possibility. It can eventually reappear, even after a reinstall.
Take the time to wipe out the virus and spyware problems, clean the system thoroughly and get a better anti virus. :2cents:

It wasn't a virus or spyware that was causing my problem and I run my antivirus and spyware detectors continually. I have Avast, Malwarebytes, Threatfire and Super Antispyware although the SAS I just uninstalled as there seems to be something conflicting with it now. :confused:


ccleaner really helps too

Yes, ccleaner is a great way to clean up old programs and tidy the registry.
I would go to a friends house and load up a USB key with all sorts of different types of spyware cleaners, etc and carefully use them one by one.
My DH contaminated our computer so badly once that it took 6 hours to clean, but with patience it can be done successfully.

Thanks, I do use ccleaner as well. :thumbs up

Sylvie
September 27th, 2009, 05:04 PM
It is so nice to have you back.

By the time you are finished with your computer, you will be helping everyone else:D

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 05:06 PM
no!....56984 :d


:eek: :eek: :eek:

I'll get you back later. :D

And YOU didn't think I could do it. :p

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 05:09 PM
It is so nice to have you back.

By the time you are finished with your computer, you will be helping everyone else:D


Thanks Sylvie ....it's great to be back. :thumbs up

But I'm far from a computer person .....just a stubborn old gal. :D

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Well now I need to go get something to eat since my head is now spinning in circles after all this. :o Too bad it's so early as I could use a drink right about now. :laughing:

Sylvie
September 27th, 2009, 05:15 PM
But, but its after 5 here. Why not have a drink on Ontario time :laughing::laughing:

Chaser
September 27th, 2009, 05:25 PM
Chaser ....want to be the first to start filling me in? :laughing:

Well Frenchy adopted a Pom - seriously! And I got a third dog :o and Kailey is teaching Sylvie's new foster, Sheba, how to play and be more confident. And....

Nevermind, this could take a while! Just go to the photography forum and check out the threads! LOL

So nice to see you back! :highfive:

Frenchy
September 27th, 2009, 07:03 PM
Well Frenchy adopted a Pom - seriously!

:laughing::laughing: yes I did Rainbow :p

So nice to see you back ! Please tell me your computer is ok now ? I mean 100% ok ?!

rainbow
September 27th, 2009, 07:22 PM
But, but its after 5 here. Why not have a drink on Ontario time :laughing::laughing:

:laughing: maybe dh will feel like something after he finishes mowing the lawn. :D

Well Frenchy adopted a Pom - seriously! And I got a third dog :o and Kailey is teaching Sylvie's new foster, Sheba, how to play and be more confident. And....

Nevermind, this could take a while! Just go to the photography forum and check out the threads! LOL

So nice to see you back! :highfive:

I see your new girl in your avatar :lovestruck: and you also changed your user name ....much easier to type. :thumbs up


:laughing::laughing: yes I did Rainbow :p

So nice to see you back ! Please tell me your computer is ok now ? I mean 100% ok ?!

It's so hard to imagine you with a little dog. :eek:

So far so good with the computer. :fingerscr

aslan
September 27th, 2009, 09:27 PM
K rainbow not sure which was the question, but lets see if i can help...If you have any blank cd's copy all of your pictures off the comp onto the cd's. they take up alot of memory and slow stuff down. Go into program files, down to windows, Temp... delete everything...

as for your history, your program may not delete them all so i would check to make sure. open IE, at the top look for history, click and make sure it's empty.

Now big important one, did you at any point get an email from anyone, me included saying Foto's 04/07, if so please say you didn't open it. if you did it was a virus and hard to get rid of... first, change your password for msn and hotmail.

you could put your windows disk in the comp and tell it to do just a repair, not an install to fix any booboo's

also when was the lasttime you defragged.

hazelrunpack
September 27th, 2009, 10:21 PM
Welcome back, rainbow! :grouphug:

Dee-O-Gee
September 27th, 2009, 11:27 PM
Welcome back Rainbow! :) :)

We've all missed you! Hope you can kick butt with the computer problems and make them all go away! :thumbs up

Love4himies
September 28th, 2009, 07:52 AM
Hi Rainbow, welcome back!

14+kitties
September 28th, 2009, 09:44 AM
A lot of the issue is that you could be running too many spyware/antivirus programs. At one point they start "detecting" each other and can start major problems. They recognize the other programs as virus'.
This is coming from a person who spent 7 years in university learning everything he could about computers. He also fixed their computers and worked for them. All you need is one good antivirus and one good spyware.
Welcome back rainbow.

rainbow
September 28th, 2009, 01:32 PM
First of all, thank you everyone for the welcome backs. :grouphug:



K rainbow not sure which was the question, but lets see if i can help...If you have any blank cd's copy all of your pictures off the comp onto the cd's. they take up alot of memory and slow stuff down. Go into program files, down to windows, Temp... delete everything...

I don't really have a lot of pics which I'm sure doesn't surprise you. :laughing:

as for your history, your program may not delete them all so i would check to make sure. open IE, at the top look for history, click and make sure it's empty.

Yeppers, it does. :thumbs up

Now big important one, did you at any point get an email from anyone, me included saying Foto's 04/07, if so please say you didn't open it. if you did it was a virus and hard to get rid of... first, change your password for msn and hotmail.

Yes, I got it from you and I did open it but not the attachment. :shrug:

you could put your windows disk in the comp and tell it to do just a repair, not an install to fix any booboo's

But if I get asked a question that I don't understand how to answer then I'm screwed. :frustrated:

also when was the lasttime you defragged.

The last time was just after I started this thread and had the comp only running in safe mode. :)


A lot of the issue is that you could be running too many spyware/antivirus programs. At one point they start "detecting" each other and can start major problems. They recognize the other programs as virus'.
This is coming from a person who spent 7 years in university learning everything he could about computers. He also fixed their computers and worked for them. All you need is one good antivirus and one good spyware.
Welcome back rainbow.

I have been wondering about that too. I did uninstall the one that was causing the problem when I did the "Run - msconfig" thing. I haven't re-installed it again and so far no problems. :fingerscr

Right now I have Avast for AV and Malwarebytes for the spyware detector. I also have Spyware Blaster which is supposed to block spyware in the first place. Also have the firewall from PC Tools. I used to use their AV but changed it to Avast after the last time I was having computer probs as it kept shutting down on its own. Before that I had AVG but got rid of it when it started not updating properly. It's weird too because when I had to get rid of AVG, I tried to install Avast several times but it would never complete so had to use PC Tools instead but when that screwed up I had no problem installing Avast. :confused:

14+kitties
September 28th, 2009, 01:38 PM
Personally I run AVG. I was having issues with it for a while too but haven't for quite some time. When I was having issues I just went in and hit update now. It always fixed it. For the other I have Spybot. These are programs my son in law runs. He's the comp expert so I listen when he says do this. :D When he applied for his Masters a few months back he scored the highest score they have seen in quite some time on the test. (Sorry. Gotta brag) :o

rainbow
September 28th, 2009, 01:52 PM
Personally I run AVG. I was having issues with it for a while too but haven't for quite some time. When I was having issues I just went in and hit update now. It always fixed it. For the other I have Spybot. These are programs my son in law runs. He's the comp expert so I listen when he says do this. :D When he applied for his Masters a few months back he scored the highest score they have seen in quite some time on the test. (Sorry. Gotta brag) :o

I don't blame you for bragging .....he sounds like quite the expert and you are so lucky to have him in your family. :thumbs up

I just google "best free AV" or "best free spyware" and go from there. The same programs are always listed by several different websites with good reviews for all. :)