Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Potato Vine Plants ("Solanum")

friend2animals
August 6th, 2009, 03:28 PM
Hi,

I have 2 potato vine plants (solanum) that I have been keeping outside in full sun since May. I have recently noticed that some of the leaves have turned yellow, and the blooming has diminished somewhat.
I had been informed that this particular plant can be kept indoors, although its maintenance is somewhat tricky. They are indoors now, in a room that has full light.

Obviously, I am not an expert green thumb, but do I need to add fertilizer, or transplant these vines?
Does anyone know how I can continue to maintain these lovely vine plants, and improve their appearance?

Thank you in advance

clm
August 6th, 2009, 04:10 PM
Is this an actual potato plant? Sweet potato vines are not the same thing, I have those in a number of my hanging baskets and they are fed with a time release fertilizer. I wouldn't try growing them indoors, they need more light than I could possibly provide them inside.
Be careful with anything in the solanum family, deadly nightshade plants, all of them and very poisenous to your pets.

clm

friend2animals
August 7th, 2009, 10:58 AM
Hi clm,

No, they are not actual potato plants - just a flowering container plant, with blue/purple blooms and narrow green leaves. The official name of this plant is Vigne de patate 'Ratonetti' (Solanum).

[I have made sure that they are inaccessible to my pet...]

I guess I could try fertilizer.

- f2a

14+kitties
August 7th, 2009, 11:53 PM