Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Tracking Traits?

BenMax
July 3rd, 2009, 07:39 AM
I have very little experience teaching tracking however I did hang out with a trainer that trained police dogs. I never saw the process from A-Z however.

I have been doing some reading on tracking but I no longer have this contact to discuss exactly what good tracking traits consist of.

I presently have a foster GSD/Lab/Husky that is 4 months old. All sibling died but her and she was in great need for rescue. I have had her now for almost 2 months and she is thriving thus far. This little one seems to have a nose for dead and buried animals. I never even was aware that she was trying to tell me this until one day I got fed up to her pulling and whining and let her show me whatever it was that she was curious about. YUK - I found out. It happened 3 more times in an uncontrolled environment as I was unaware. The 4 time I knew about the 'deceased' and wanted to see if she would steer me to it - she did.

If anyone knows anything about this subject - I would love to hear from you. I am very novice at this and if she would be a good candidate for this - I need a contact. I would like to have her professionally tested to see if this may be a good option for her.

Thanks so much.

mollywog
July 3rd, 2009, 10:00 AM
BenMax, sorry but I don't have any advice... I'm just here to demand pictures of Molly's twin!!! :yell: :o

BenMax
July 3rd, 2009, 10:02 AM
BenMax, sorry but I don't have any advice... I'm just here to demand pictures of Molly's twin!!! :yell: :o

Oh so right - I will get a good one this weekend and attach - you are going to be shocked as to the resemblance.

Mat&Murph
July 3rd, 2009, 10:41 AM
That sounds like really good tracking. Now you just have to get her to stop tracking the dead. :laughing: Try taking treats and hiding them in places she can get too. make a game out of it

Love4himies
July 3rd, 2009, 10:59 AM