Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

newbie here...cat meowing us to death

amorcita
June 30th, 2009, 07:52 PM
Hello!
We adopted a Ragdoll cat from a woman on craigslist about a year ago. I wanted a kitty and she wanted to get rid of hers. I only mention that he is purebred in case it might have some bearing on the situation.
He is 9 years old, neutered and 25 lbs. His breed runs large, but he is a bit of a "hog" about food, so we are very careful to feed him only twice a day. No leaving dry food out for this guy!!!
He is very much a "floor cat" and also doesn't go in for much affection. He usually gets up and walks about a foot away when affection is offered him (we think this is hilarious, btw. It's pretty much a full time job making fun of the cat).
He is completely vetted, no issues in sight.

SO WHY WILL HE NOT STOP MEOWING!!!?!?!?!?!?!????

He's always been pretty vocal but lately it is off the hook. Yes, we did move 4 months ago but this started happening way after he got adjusted to the new place. He doesn't seem to want to play (I try, but he loses interest quickly).
Is hoggy just wanting more food? I would think that is the answer except that he's only been doing this for a few weeks.

HELP PLEASE!!!

ancientgirl
June 30th, 2009, 07:59 PM
Maybe he's bored? Do you have something for him to occupy his time? Maybe he just wants to talk to you.:D Mine don't meow much, but I do have one, Kiska, that likes to meow quite a bit at me when I'm in the kitchen. I always say she's yelling at me about something, but when she meows, I just talk to her.

Maybe some of the others here might be able to shed some light.

amorcita
June 30th, 2009, 08:27 PM
Thank you for your reply!!
Diego used to be like your Kiska... just wanting conversation. And I would talk back to him. Now he just YELLS and YELLS.