Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Newbie here with questions pertaining to new young puppy

AbsolutelyMabye
June 15th, 2009, 01:19 AM
( I posted this also in the introduction and realized that maybe I should have posted my questions here - sorry)

Hello,
I am so glad I stumbled upon this site. Let me introduce myself. My husband and I have two kiddos (ages 14 and 9) and a kitty named Princess who has been with us for 3 years (rescued in front of a store where she was dropped off at maybe 5 or 6 weeks of age). She is an amazing kitty who has mastered many tricks such as ; sit, come, stay, high five...etc. My 14 year old daughter has spent countless hours training her. We lost our long hair chuahahua about a year in a half ago due to a bone disease. He was only 7 years old. We have discussed for some time now about adopting a new dog. We brought in an adult dog and Princess had a cow (and almost ripped the dog up). Soooo we tried a puppy (a neighbor's) and she seemed better- leery but tolerated the puppy's presence.

This last week we adopted an AKC yellow Lab pup (from what we *thought* was a reputable breeder*). Come to find out she was only 6 weeks old- not "almost 8" and some other things that were said to us do not match up. This feels like very much our fault because we didnt ask more questions. I read the post about finding reputable breeders and wish I saw that first. Now we are faced with the task of what she lost during those crucial last weeks with litter mates and mom. And she deserves only the very best