Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Social etiquette...

Nagini
May 27th, 2009, 02:19 PM
Hi people
I have a 7mo old female presa canario puppy, Lily.
This is our first dog and we are really trying hard to do everything right.
We have kind of succeeded in big areas; she doesn't know the heel command but she is taught to walk nicely next to us on leash, she is house trained, crate trained, knows sit, down, stay, give paw (I have to work more on those, she doesnt see fun doing those "chores").

So I am still learning but one thing really bothers me

I know big strong dog races like her tend to be rough with each other. Some dogs play nicely together, but some start showing dominance and fight over for it. I wouldnt call it playing at that point anymore, but dogs dont do it to hurt or kill each other.

With most dogs, lily does the other kind of playing, which is chest-to-chest "fight of the strongest", both dogs will try and catch a grip of the ears or neck, but not hard, this is no dog fighting. They will try and push each other on their back and just lay down on top etc...

If Lily has a stick, she will growl and own the stick towards any other dog who comes close. She has NEVER done such towards any person, but she does it with dogs...

It struck me the other day when I saw a dog owner, also had a strong race puppy(same age as Lily), dog called Leo, so I compared Lily to Leo. This owner had jsut amazing control over Leo, as soon as Leo changed "playing" into "fight for the strongest/dominance" (as I described above), the owner said one single word and Leo looked at him, and changed the behaviour.

Everyody says "its just how these dogs play", but is that an excuse or what? Should I really stop that? I would love to. She just shuts her ears as soon as she gets to that mood of playing rough like that. Its so hard...

Tell me what is the social etiquettes in these things, please, please!

luckypenny
May 27th, 2009, 02:32 PM