Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Need help with housetraining

Nym
May 9th, 2009, 06:27 PM
We have a 14 month old shih-tzu cross that is "mostly" housetrained. Our problem is that she doesnt ask to go out. She is kept in her crate during the day, but then we take her out at regular intervals when we are home. How do we get her to tell us when she needs to go the bathroom? This is a problem because sometimes she just goes to the bathroom in the house and she isn't reliable.

Any pointers that anyone can give would be greatly appreciated. We have thought about the bell but want something that can be used anywhere that we may travel with her. Thank-you!

snow
May 16th, 2009, 07:52 AM
Hi Ill start by saying I am no expert is animal behaviour but i strongly believe house training is all about repitition and consistency. I have had at one time 3 keeschonds and have been able to succesfully trained them. Now I have my 5 year old kees and a 9 week old husky/lab mix. the 5 year old is so amazing that he alerts me not only for himself but also her the puppy! I have had a few accidents but it is expected since puppies dont have bladder control till around 12 to 15 weeks. I am positive I will have her trained by then. I assure you it gets easier and it also helps to have a dog guide the way for a puppy. Good luck dont loose hope. In ending no dog wants to mess where he lives its not a natural thing for them so if you watch for the signs and repeat the acceptable behaviour you will have your girl not only trained but on a routine to almost be able to predict when she will have to go and what pee or poo. ( monitor food and water intake) This is also a good guide. An hour before you put her to bed at night take away food and water and take her for a bathroom run. This wont mean she wont have an accident at night remember their bladders are too small to hold for 8 hours. Gooduck!

King
May 16th, 2009, 08:16 AM