Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Fredericton NEWBIE

WantingToLearn
April 4th, 2009, 05:39 PM
Hi all,

Another newbie here. I'm here so I can learn about cats, and their care. I've always wanted a cat, but my family was a dog's family, and so I've only had dogs.

I've been doing some research on cats and kittens and I've found the perfect two for adoption on kijiji.

My main questions are:

1. Pet Insurance. Do pet insurance companies direct bill and if not how does the whole payment and claiming works. Say I did get a cat and she fell ill and the bill was $900, would i be expected to pay that in full, or would I pay, say 15% and then vet submits the claim for the rest?

2. One of the cats I want is a 3 year old , spayed, vaccinated, and declawed beauty. The other is a 8 week old kitten. How much would deworming, and shots cost? If she's an indoor cat do i have to spay her? I live in an apt.

3. Start up costs. Can someone walk me through the start up costs as well as the monthly costs (food, and insurance)

Can anyone tell me what to expect. The only cats I've come accross have been pretty solitary, but the ones I've seen on Kijijij I desperately want to adopt (esp the 3 yr old) because i don't want them to end up in the shelter.

Thanks! And I hope I can continue to learn a lot from you all.

PS.- 2 more things.

1. Is VetInsurance any good? It looks like they pretty popular along with the PurinaCare and CherryBlue.

2. Can anyone recommend a vet in New Brunswick (Fredericton). If I do this I want to be prepared.

Blackdog22
April 4th, 2009, 06:27 PM
Welcome!!
I don't have cats, but many people on this board seem very knowledgable about the little critters. I'm sure you'll learn alot!

I use PetSecure with my dogs, it costs about $31 a month (per dog) through credit card.
I do believe they pay 80% while we pay 20%. Overall it's a great deal.