Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Border Collie Aggression - Need Suggestions!

Bailey_
March 10th, 2009, 11:09 AM
Hi Everyone!

I don't normally do this, but in this certain situation I am starting to get at my wits end and would love some suggestions/thoughts/similiar experiences from any of you.

First of all, (and I do not mean this in any offence to those who are treat-trainers or clicker trainers) I am only looking for BEHAVIORAL suggestions. I am a behavioral trainer and this particular client of mine is not interested in treat or clicker training as *both* have not worked with her border collie's issues.

Max is an 11 month old Border collie that we have been working with for a month now. A few months ago, he was adopted by his current owners from the humane society in our city, after Max had been dropped off by his previous owners due to "too much barking".

Max came to me having all sorts of interesting quirks, common to the border collie traits. He was suspicious of almost everyone and everything that went by (strollers, men, bikes, shopping carts, little kids, women with big colourful purses or bags, wheelchairs etc) and would react by lunging up in the air - snapping, attempting to nip at whatever it was that he was not sure about. He'd bark like crazy, and pretty much scare everyone in ten feet radius.

We addressed these issues by putting him right in the muck of it. (They have two lessons a week, one private and one group.) For the private lessons we would take Max to various locations around the city that I knew to be heavily populated with people and would take our time dealing with the issues that came to us. Our first order of business was to put Max in a calm state of mind before we started our walk.