Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

a bite?

boo_boo
February 26th, 2009, 11:50 PM
When i got back from my week vacation my 2 year old cat had a patch of hair missing from it upper part of its tail. There are 2 little, what appears to be cuts and one slightly larger one. My cat constently is licking them and they are always bleeding they do not appear to be getting any better. I want to take the cat to a vet to see if its anything serious but im only a student, and they charge like $100 just for a visit.. So i was wondering if anyone knew if its an infection in the cuts, and if there is anything i can do to hopefully help with the healing, i did but some ointment, but i really do not know what else to do. Or if i should be concerned and take him to the vet?

TacoGrl
February 27th, 2009, 07:03 AM
Yes, you should take your kitty to the vet...open sores...bleeding...cat fussing with them...again, go to the vet.

Cats are expensive...as are dogs...you should really start up some kind of savings account for such situations.

Most vets only charge $60-70 for a look-see...talk to your vet and see if they give a student discount...not over the phone, but in person...develop a relationship with your vet and most times they will work with you.

:fingerscr

Love4himies
February 27th, 2009, 07:30 AM
Some human ointments can be toxic to your kitty. The only way you will get an answer is by taking your kitty to the vet. Phone around, you may find that vets charge different fees for a visit.

ancientgirl
February 27th, 2009, 09:06 AM
I've got the same advice, take your kitty to the vet. $100 sounds like a bit steep. Are you sure that's an appointment cost and not an emergency visit? Call around and if you can't get a regular vet, maybe the Humane Society has some low cost vet appointments.

It could be a bite or something else. Is your cat indoor or outdoor? If outdoor, all the more reason to get him/her to the vet.

Etown_Chick
February 27th, 2009, 08:43 PM