Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Need advice about an elderly cat

sharisika
February 6th, 2009, 01:19 PM
Hello,
I am new here but was hoping to get some thoughts or advice about an elderly cat that belongs to somebody else. Their attitude is this cat has little time left so even though it has health problems, they are allowing it to run free in the alley. Yesterday, it was raining & the cat was wet & shivering & weighs all of 3 lbs. The owner says she is senial, has diabetes but she is not about to give the cat insulin shots. She said "been there done that". She told me she leaves every weekend & if the cat is outside, she just leaves it outside. She also feels the cat may have had a stroke due to one eye pupil is bigger than the other. I feed a couple of alley cats who were trapped, & neutered. I have been feeding them for 12 years, that is how I know about this other cat. The cat just stares out in space after he eats the food & she gobbles it down like she is starving.
It is true that the kitty seems happy outside & I'm concerned I am imposing my own values on the subject. On weeknights they do bring her in after dark (but not on weekends). She was missing for 2 weeks just recently & that is why they put a phone number on her colar. That is how I was able to speak with them. I feel they are neglecting this cat & that it has too many health problems to be exposed to the outdoors. This is not my cat so legally I don't know what I can do about the situation or if my assumption is correct. That is why I'd like feedback here. I really appreciate any thoughts or advice on this matter. BTW, when I spoke to & questioned the owner about dehydration & vet care...she was very defensive.
Sincerely,
Sharisika

sugarcatmom
February 6th, 2009, 01:32 PM
The owner says she is senial, has diabetes but she is not about to give the cat insulin shots.