Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Neep help with house breaking my chihuahua

kaotiksymphony
January 20th, 2009, 11:31 AM
Hi guys, I desperatly need some advice on how to go about house breaking my 7 month old huahua. When I bought him, the breader told me to train him on doggy pads, so I did that for the first 3 months and it worked ok except he often did right next to the pad instead of on the pad....so a little over a month ago, I started training him to go outside, but he just won't go. I live in canada and it's winter now so he just stands there at the door shivering. I have tried everthing I can think of but he just will not do his business outside.

So here's the details:
He's crate trained, so he sleeps in his crate at night and spends the whole day in it when I'm at work, it's a small crate so he should not pee or poop in it, but sometimes he does, which makes it very hard to train him as I can't control what he does during the day and at night. I put him outside before I go to bed and first thing in the morning, sometimes he will elinimate but most often not, he will pee on the floor as soon as I let him back in the house. I put him outside regularly (every hour or so) and I praise him and give him a treat when he does happen to go outside. I watch his behavior and make sure to put him out if I think he's looking for a place to do his business, I ask him "do you need to go pee?" and he gets all excited and sometime goes to the door but as soon as I open it he runs back to his bed...
When I catch him pooping or peeing inside, I say "no, you pee/poop outside" and I put him outside right away and if I find that he already did in the house and I take him to his mess and say "no, bad boy" very firmly and put him outside.

So Am I doing something wrong here? Is it normal that he's not getting it even a little bit after 6 weeks or training? Do you have any advice to give me, something different I could try?

Thanks so much!

BenMax