Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

looking for new dog food

noodlelegs
January 7th, 2009, 11:01 PM
since we've adopted our 11 mth old border collie/retriever mix in sept. we've had off and on loose stool issues. one is fine the next has no form. recently a trip to the vet showed no parasites in the stool but the antidirreaha med did not firm it up.we've been supplimenting her nutro max with cooked chicken and rice to little success. I found Evo brand online but don't know much about it. Any recommendations? I'm new to this whole chat room stuff.

want4rain
January 7th, 2009, 11:03 PM
Evo is great, the vet suggest perhaps an allergy???

-ash

otter
January 7th, 2009, 11:23 PM
Soft stools can be caused by lots of things....

Evo is a good food I believe, one of many out there. I'm not much of an expert in these things but i'd DEFINITELY try out a grain free diet to see if that helps. If your dog is doing OK despite the soft poops you can try out some simple things (like going grain free, different protein sources) without too much worry. Just follow the usual guidelines for introducing new foods to ensure you don't end up with issues due to stuff being new.

Did the vet do blood work too... might be worth while too for a new dog :thumbs up

My dog (10 yr old golden retriever) had soft poops until I stopped feeding her kibble entirely, went to home cooked instead - just one experience though.

noodlelegs
January 7th, 2009, 11:32 PM
We had blood work done when we first brought her home from the rescue shelter. The vet thought we should remove bones and rawhide chews from her diet first to see if that helped and try some dietary changes before bloodwork. taking her chewies away didn't do much so we thought we'd try food next.

otter
January 7th, 2009, 11:35 PM