Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

How to Store Leftover Canned?

Smiley14
January 3rd, 2009, 11:28 PM
I have a really stupid question! :) I've never used canned/wet food before, but after much trial and error, it's the only way I can get Jelly to eat enough of her Orijen kibble. She won't eat any people foods, raw, dehydrated raw or freeze dried raw or tripe. Picky puppy! And she won't eat enough kibble to get her daily rations. As I'm trying to fatten her up, I need to get her to eat more and by mixing in a few teaspoons of canned into her kibble, she LOVES it and gobbles it all down. YAY! But as I'm not using a full can each day, what is the proper way to store the leftovers? I know it has to be refrigerated, but can you cover the can and put that in the fridge or does it need to be put in a separate container? I've seen can lids before, but for some reason, I always thought you couldn't put cans in the fridge? Is that true or did I imagine that? It would be easier to cover the can and throw it in the fridge, but obviously won't do that if it's bad. :)

otter
January 3rd, 2009, 11:37 PM
Smiley14, I've heard it's best to transfer the food from the can into a glass or ceramic container (like a bowl) and then cover and put in fridge. Food of any kind should never be stored in a can.

You might find you need to heat up the food a bit (like 5 sec in the microwave) before serving it.. the heating brings out all the smells and will make it extra yummy for Jelly.

Did you try hot water on just the kibbles too... also helps to make food more enticing :thumbs up If you don't like using canned (though I think the bit of variety added by canned is really good), the hot water might do the trick

growler~GateKeeper
January 3rd, 2009, 11:39 PM