Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Annie is home!

shan
July 28th, 2004, 09:09 AM
The surgery is all over and I have my baby back! (YAY!!!). She is sure feeling sorry for herself...dont blame her! She finally ate a bit this morning. As this is my first time dealing with this whole process I am very nervous. Is it normal for to not have gone poop yet? She went yesterday morning before surgery, and as I said, she only ate this morning. (took her food away at 6:00pm night before surgery). I am just concerned because she usually goes 2x a day like clock work....Also is there anything that anyone reccomends to put on the incision to help healing? The stitches are absorbable, so I dont want to put anything on her that will cause them to break down. I think thats all the questions I have at this point, but I am definitely open for any advice anyone has for me... Oh yeah, I got her tattooed as well, does anyone know how this tattoo system works in case she gets lost?

Thanks guys!
Shannon :)

Freyja
July 28th, 2004, 09:17 AM
The anesthetic will make it so her schedule will be off a bit for a day or two.

Lucky Rescue
July 28th, 2004, 09:28 AM
Glad Annie is home!:) Yes, it's normal for her to be a little constipated for a day or two. She may not have much of an appetite, or may not act like "herself."

Do not put anything on the incision. Just make sure Annie doesn't lick the stitches much or pull at them.

Just let her sleep if she wants to, and try and keep her quiet - no running or jumping. She should be back to normal soon.:)

mastifflover
July 28th, 2004, 09:49 AM
I agree don't put anything on the sutures if she start to lick them and bite at them contact your vet and he will give you something to put on them so she wont lick them. These sutures that dissolve are great my guy just had surgery and they used them as well and he never even touches them

glasslass
July 28th, 2004, 10:45 AM