Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

My cat passed away yesterday :( Looking for some insight....

trevor_r85
December 1st, 2008, 02:40 PM
Hello all,

I registered on the forums in an attempt to narrow down the cause of my cat's sudden death yesterday, and being a university student I cannot afford to pay to have an autopsy done to find out what really happened. He was my best friend, and if anyone could offer me some possibilities of why he died would really help the grieving process.

The Facts

-4 year old male calico indoor cat named Cubbee
-visited the vet regularly (annual basis), healthy aside from scabs he would develop on his chest area from what the vet speculated as an allergy to rubber or leather (he always laid on my girlfriends leather boots while waiting for her to come home). He was given medication 2 years ago for it, and he has been healthy ever since.
-Nutram food, Temptations treats
-average weight and size
-playful, friendly, energetic, and always wanted to be right beside me no matter where I was

The Signs

-in the 4 years of having him, he never had a single bowel accident on the floor.
-2 weeks ago I came home, and he had pooped on the floor for the first time ever.
-last week I came home and their was a clear liquid on the tiles in the kitchen. Not urine, was unscented, possibly vomit (which also would have been a first)
-despite all of this, no differences in his evergy level or no signs of anything abnormal.

The Death

-I called him out to the kitchen to get some treats and was watching him eat them.
-all of a sudden he flew backwards and landed on his side with his back arched and tail poofed (similarly to when he was startled or scared)
-he let out 2 deep and loud breaths, then his pupils dialated and his tongue fell out of his mouth and was purple. (all happened within the course of about 10 seconds)

The Aftermath