Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Dog is scratching herself silly

LisaR
November 11th, 2008, 02:46 PM
Hey this is my first time posting on here so if i'm not doing it correctly I appolgize already. Okay so here is my issue. I have a LabX female who is 5yrs old. After several vet appointments the vet said that my dog has allergies and gave her some medicine for that as well as some flax seed oil to go on her dry kibble. But she's still itching and she is losing her fur. I'm not sure what else to do and can't really afford to keep sending her to the vet. Is it normal for her to itch like that if she has allegeries or what should I be doing? ps. I have checked for fleas but haven't seen anything and I'm a lil worried due to the cold weather about her fur as she is an outside dog. Please help

babymomma
November 11th, 2008, 02:49 PM
Hwat food are you feeding? What is she allergic to?

May i ask, without being rude and stuff, and without offending you in anyway. Im just curious because ive never understood it. Why do you keep your dog outside?

rainbow
November 11th, 2008, 03:23 PM
Welcome to pets.ca :thumbs up

A grain free kibble is the best for dogs with allergies or else raw feeding. Scratching and losing fur are both signs of allergies and we would need to know what you are feeding her before offering further advise.

I would not be adding flaxseed oil to your dog's kibble as it is a fairly common allergen itself. Salmon oil would be a much better choice. If the brand you choose does not have some vitamin e added then you will have to supplent that 2 to 3 days a week as well.

Also, how much time does your dog spend outdoors?

LisaR
November 12th, 2008, 01:37 PM