Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Could she get pregnant?

babymomma
September 24th, 2008, 03:33 PM
Hi all. Just a question About pregnancy in dogs, i was walking with my friend today and her toy poodle, and a question suddenly Came across my mind.. Can a dog get pregnant without being in heat ( No the Male poodle wasnt Attempting to hump keely or anything but i was just wondering, because keely isnt getting spayed until next month..)

madge
September 24th, 2008, 03:56 PM
I'm no expert, but as far as I know, it is physiologically impossible for them to get pregnant when not in heat. Of course the whole heat period can last a few weeks, so a dog may be in heat already and you don't suspect, or you may think it's over and it's not... guess prevention's the best strategy!

babymomma
September 24th, 2008, 04:16 PM
At 5 months old i doubt shes going into heat of if she has already ( I know its totally possible but not completely probable because i would notice if something was happening) I was just wondering, its one of those weird and kinda dumb questions that randomly pops into my head! lol..

erykah1310
September 24th, 2008, 04:29 PM
Highly unlikely that a female not in heat will get prego. However there is a chance she could have a silent heat ( meaning basically going into heat but not displaying any of the bleeding ect)

Gail P
September 25th, 2008, 04:00 PM
However there is a chance she could have a silent heat ( meaning basically going into heat but not displaying any of the bleeding ect)

Especially a first heat from my understanding. I've heard that the first one can often go unnoticed (to us, but I'm sure not to an intact male)

rainbow
September 25th, 2008, 04:26 PM
Highly unlikely that a female not in heat will get prego. However there is a chance she could have a silent heat ( meaning basically going into heat but not displaying any of the bleeding ect)