Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

HELP just adopted 2 dogs - WHY am I feeling so anxious?

acreage
September 2nd, 2008, 12:50 PM
Hi - I am new to these forums so please bear with me...

We have just adopted 2 great lab mixed breed dogs - quite large and over 1 year old. It was a long considered decision that we did not take lightly.

I am sure they will have a great life with us on our spacious acreage, and I am sure the dogs were just fine last night (their first with us) in their warm comfortable house that we brought from their original home for continuity.

I was a mess though! I hardly slept a wink listening for them outside, every time I heard a coyote howl I sat bolt upright in bed, I actually have given myself a nervouse stomach and have lost my appetite....I feel overwhelmed with responsibility. My husband has owned dogs on his family farm his whole life but I am new to this (we do have one very sociable house cat).

Will I ever be able to relax? How long will it take the dogs to settle in and stop hugging the house/decks unless we go outside? (they are used to a small city yard so far in their lives but have been socialized well at the dog park). I feel pangs of guilt every time they look in the house to check if we are still here. (we work from home so we are around a lot).

Can anyone relate and offer advice or reassurance?

BenMax
September 2nd, 2008, 01:12 PM