Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Introducing puppy to young cats

yettiyodamarlo
July 19th, 2008, 04:09 PM
I'm getting a Bernese puppy tomorrow and we're all set and ready to go, the only thing I'm still worried about is how my two cats that are between 4-6 months apprx. will react.

I've read that it's okay if the cats swat or hiss to let the puppy know what behaviour is acceptable, but at the same time I've heard horror stories from the vet about pups losing their eyes from cat swatting! :eek:

I'd like both dog and cats to get along and any tips or suggestions are GREATLY appreciated! :)

sugarcatmom
July 19th, 2008, 08:08 PM
Here is a good article on how to introduce dogs and cats: http://www.labadoption.org/linkpages/DogBehave/Articles/Cats.pdf

Chaser
July 19th, 2008, 08:15 PM
I'm sorry, I have zero experience with cats. But I am completely in love with Berners and I am begging you in advance to post pictures when you get your puppy!

yettiyodamarlo
July 21st, 2008, 01:26 PM
Thanks for the link, sugarcatmom!

LOL, I will def. post pics ASAP chase_mom : )
very happy to show off my little ball of fur!

phoozles
July 21st, 2008, 01:28 PM
Don't know if it's mentioned in the article, but I would recommend trimming the cats' nails before the puppy gets there, just to ensure there aren't any incidents, accidental or otherwise..
Good luck, and we will definitely want to see some pictures!

yettiyodamarlo
July 21st, 2008, 04:16 PM
That's a great tip, phoozles...
thanks a bunch ! :):)

solo-nicolas
July 23rd, 2008, 03:25 PM
I'm sure your adventure has begun already, but here's my 2 cents anyway!

Fortunately for us Nicolas is a very patient and understanding cat. During the first few days we brought Solo home, it was hard to control him from jumping on, body slamming, or trying any other wrestling move he could on Nic. We both had to watch Solo carefully to ensure he wasn't getting too rough or too irritating for Nic.