Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Being a foster home

Natsuki
July 14th, 2008, 02:40 PM
Hi,

I am new to the forum, so sorry if I don't have a picture uploaded yet...:)

I was thinking of becoming a foster home for a dog. I am a student at a university and so might still be moving around so I can't get my own dog for now... but I wanted to know what it was like and didn't find any treads on the subject. Do you get the dog for a long time or do they get picked every month or so? What happens if me and the dog don't get along for a reason? Will the shelter listen to my opinion about the people who wants to get the dog?

I understand I could ask to a shelter directly, but I haven't picked a school for my master's yet, so I am not sure where I will be... and I want the opinion of people who have been doing this a few times.

Thank you! :dog:

Frenchy
July 14th, 2008, 09:29 PM
Do you get the dog for a long time or do they get picked every month or so? What happens if me and the dog don't get along for a reason? Will the shelter listen to my opinion about the people who wants to get the dog?

It all depends on the shelter / rescue. Some may not want to let you foster because you are a student and still moving. You will have to find an organization that you would like to help and ask them about it. I hope it works out for you because many dogs are waiting to be fostered. Maybe ask the Montreal SPCA. :fingerscr

RedSonia29
July 23rd, 2008, 10:51 PM
Natsuki,

It's wonderful that you are considering fostering dogs for your local rescues or humane society. A few words of advise:

1) You never know what type of dog you are going to get from the rescue. Some are super high strung and some are really gentle. None of the dogs are going to know the rules of your house, and many can be really noisy. If you are renting, I would not recommend fostering unless your landlord is cool with it.