Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Bratty Cat

linnie145
June 26th, 2008, 06:15 AM
So I just moved home from college about 6 months ago (I graduated in december) and with me came a very sweet, loving cuddly cat. She just turned a year old in April! My family although not too happy welcomed her into our family. Even our 10 year old lab! Everything was going wonderfully until a few weeks ago when the cat started urinating on the dog's bed. I have tried everything to wash it out and I get it clean every time it happens but I can't figure out why it's happening and what I can do to make it so the cat doesn't want to do that. At first I thought it was because her litter box was dirty so I bought a self cleaning box and that fixed it for about two weeks and now it has started again so I know its not the litter box. I have thrown out two dog beds and bought new ones and that still didn't help... any ideas? Thanks!

clm
June 26th, 2008, 06:30 AM
I'm not sure how the self cleaning litter box works. Has the litter been completely changed out? If so how often? Since it stopped for 2 weeks once you changed to the new litter box, it sounds like it might be related to that. Where does the used litter go with the self cleaning box?

Cindy

Love4himies
June 26th, 2008, 06:44 AM
I was thinking the same as CLM, if the behaviour stopped for a bit when the litter was changed, then I would think it was dirty litter.

With some cats they don't like to poo and pee in the same litter box so two litter boxes are a must with these kitties.

I wouldn't rule out a health issue, either, so I would recommend taking your cat in to be checked for a bladder or kidney infection.

sugarcatmom
June 26th, 2008, 07:17 AM
Ditto what they said ^^. You might find this link helpful: http://www.catinfo.org/litterbox.htm

Top reasons for a cat to stop using the litter box:

Dirty litter box(es)

Poor choice of litter type (using pellets/crystals/non-clumping litter)