Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

HELP -11 month old rescued dog won't pee or poop outside!

Purfectionn
June 19th, 2008, 01:45 PM
I just rescued a female jack russell/chihuahua mixed puppy and her old owners had her peeing on puppy pads and kept her in a crate for 12-16 hours a day while they were at work. I have tried having the puppy pads down and even near the door, but she wont even go on the puppy pads with me. She get walked at least 10 times a day along with our 2 year old male chihuahua. I give her a command to "go potty" but every time she has to go to the bathroom she holds it on all of the walks and goes as soon as she gets either into my house or office.

Both dogs come to my office with me every day and I cannot have her just going to the bathroom wherever and whenever she wants to. Does anyone have any advise please?

Thank you in advance for your time.

Best,

A

Kashi
June 19th, 2008, 02:11 PM
I'm far from an expert, but my thought is to make her walks longer - keep her outside until she does pee or poop. And reward her like crazy when she does.

mollywog
June 19th, 2008, 03:25 PM
How long have you had her for? Our rescue was similar, had no problem going inside at first, because thats what she was used to doing. Give her some time to adjust to her new surroundings, and TONS of praise once she finally does go outside. Also, watch for behaviours like circling or sniffing and immediately pick her up and place her outside even if she's already doing her business!
Good luck, and bless you for rescuing a dog... I am sure she will be a forever grateful girl! :pawprint:

tenderfoot
June 19th, 2008, 06:08 PM
When she does make a mistake inside clean it up with paper towles and take the papers outside and put a rock on them to keep them in place. Always take her to that location first and last on your walks. It might help her want to pee and also let her think she has peed there before. Do the same with her poops.