Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

FireFox vs Internet Explorer

breeze
June 5th, 2008, 01:48 PM
my question is why does FireFox work better than internet explore??

Why is it so much faster??

does it work any better if it the default browser??

how do you do that after it is installed??

ancientgirl
June 5th, 2008, 02:34 PM
I use Firefox and I find it easier and a lot better. Not as many pop ups as IE. IE is subject to a lot of issues because many hackers target microsoft.

I also love the tabs, which IE has now adapted into their system too. You can switch all of your bookmarks to Firefox too. And it has a lot of add-ons. If you use blogs, I use live journal, it has an add on making it easier for you to post websites use italics and bold and things like that. And you can also look for interesting themes. But the add ons are one of the neat things.

breeze
June 5th, 2008, 02:40 PM
I use Firefox and I find it easier and a lot better. Not as many pop ups as IE. IE is subject to a lot of issues because many hackers target microsoft.

I also love the tabs, which IE has now adapted into their system too. You can switch all of your bookmarks to Firefox too. And it has a lot of add-ons. If you use blogs, I use live journal, it has an add on making it easier for you to post websites use italics and bold and things like that. And you can also look for interesting themes. But the add ons are one of the neat things.

i know about most of it.. (don't like the tabs....spent most of the day yesterday playing around with it.. but I did not put it as my default browser...
how do you do that now after I installed it..??

want4rain
June 5th, 2008, 02:56 PM
You would normally set a default browser using the the options or preference settings within the web browser. For example,

* Firefox 1.5: " "Tools -> Options -> General -> Default Browser -> Check Now"
* Firefox 2: " Tools -> Options -> Main / System Defaults -> (checkmark) Always check to see if Firefox is the default browser on startup -> Check Now"
* Firefox 3: " Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> General / System Defaults -> (checkmark) Always check to see if Firefox is the default browser on startup -> Check Now"
* Mozilla Suite and SeaMonkey 1.x: "Edit -> Preferences -> Navigator -> Set Default Browser"
* SeaMonkey 2: "Edit -> Preferences -> Browser / Default Browser -> Set Default Browser"

Make sure that only one browser is set to check if it is the default. If those settings don't work, try setting another browser as the default browser, then reset Firefox, Mozilla Suite or SeaMonkey as the default. Other suggestions are listed below.


(FYI i just googled that... i havent used windows in years. :cool:) EDIT- cause im a cool Mac user. :laughing:

-ashley

ancientgirl
June 5th, 2008, 02:57 PM
If you go to tools, then go to Main, at the bottom it will ask you if you want to check to see if Firefox is your default. It it's not then you can switch it then. Or in the past, I've found that when Firefox wasn't my default, whenever I'd open it, it would ask if I wanted to make it my default.

I have to say, at first I hated Firefox. I'd been so used to using IE, but I love it now. And the tabs are really a wonderful thing. You don't have to keep opening a new browser window to search for stuff or compare stuff, or just to be on several sites at once.

I have a tab with my yahoo mail open, my yahoo main page AND right now I am typing this in another tab. All you have to do is go to the tab you want. Leaving several sites open at the same time is one of the interesting things Firefox does.

The downside, some sites won't accept Firefox as a browser so there are some, very few these days, which make you use IE.

dmc123
June 5th, 2008, 05:30 PM
Interesting, I have both loaded but almost always use IE7. I just tried FireFox at the same time. I loaded pets.ca, then this thread and saw no difference at all, in fact my IE7 was slightly faster.

I will keep an eye on this thread, curious to see what others find out.

Diane

dmc123
June 5th, 2008, 05:40 PM
I have to take back what I said in my last post - I just tested two of my other links I use often that seem a bit sluggish on IE7 - they opened much quicker on firefox.

So, I stand in amazement and would love to hear why Firefox is much faster. I may change this to default browser in the near future. :)

Diane

want4rain
June 5th, 2008, 06:00 PM
Chris says "um, *thinking thinking* hmm.... for starters all microsoft applications and OS's have to support backwards compatibility which adds overhead. um.... the way that IE is tied into the OS is meant to be uh.... its meant to be a benefit and make things faster but in reality it probably adds more overhead. um, you know where as Mozilla is a targeted application for internet browsing and it can be optimized as such."

he also went on to say that he hasnt noticed any difference between IE and FF loading web pages. we havent had a PC running in a LONG time but we use to use FF on that for security holes, being tied into the OS and all that. we use FF NOW cause we have a Mac and it helps things to run smoothly on the net. i like Safari better but FF works great too.

-ashley

breeze
June 5th, 2008, 06:13 PM
ancientgirl just to let you know, it doesn't have what you said.. I checked..
are you running vista??

breeze
June 5th, 2008, 06:15 PM
never mind found it..:thumbs up all is good..

ancientgirl
June 5th, 2008, 06:33 PM
ah cool. I'm running Vista, and it's not as bad as some people say it is. Yeah it's a bit of a pain if I want to download something, like a program or whatever, but nothing really bad.

onster
June 5th, 2008, 06:36 PM
I dont know all the techie stuff but firefox runs better for me. Less "Ie has an encountered an error and must close". Rarely ever does firefox ever close on me and when it does you can opt to restore session and go back to the exact same page u were on :thumbs up

dmc123
June 5th, 2008, 06:41 PM
Still testing here.....FF won't load the video so far for the eagles on http://wavelit.com/index.php?view=EaglesNestLive

Maybe I am too new at FF to know what needs to be done.

Diane

ancientgirl
June 5th, 2008, 06:57 PM
Sometimes you have to load some media software. When I first started using FF I had to allow downloading some files to allow me to see some videos.

Onster, I love that restore session option.

want4rain
June 5th, 2008, 07:03 PM
Still testing here.....FF won't load the video so far for the eagles on http://wavelit.com/index.php?view=EaglesNestLive

Maybe I am too new at FF to know what needs to be done.

Diane

yep, gotta download plug-ins for it. it should prompt you for it though. a puzzle piece will pop up where the video should be and it will tell you that you need a plug-in, click here to down load it.

-ash

breeze
June 5th, 2008, 07:03 PM
dmc123

I couldn't either until a mintue ago..

this is what you do...

click on the video
it will say download plug in..click on it
it will then probably say nothing was installed..click on manuel download..

it will bring you to another page..
close everything else.. and click on it at the top where it says download plug-in something like that....
it will then say what do you want to do I saved it into a file that I created.. once you downloaded it.. then you must find where you saved it to.. click on it and it will install..

then you can see the video..

there might be an easer way but I don't know what it is yet..:D

hazelrunpack
June 6th, 2008, 12:23 AM
I build the dogs' newsletter in Microsoft Publisher (lets me do a print version and a web version from the same file). Unfortunately, it's not really browsable in FF--none of the pictures come across due to the nature of MS Publisher. So where programs like Publisher are being used to build sites, FF won't be able to fully image them... :shrug: Not sure if you'd consider that a MS problem or a FF problem :laughing: But it's darn tootin' hazel's problem! :rolleyes:

breeze
June 6th, 2008, 07:05 AM
Hazel I did not get rid of IE so when you publish the news letter I will still be able to read it..:thumbs up

want4rain
June 6th, 2008, 07:26 AM
just FYI, you cant get rid of IE. :)

-ashley

breeze
June 6th, 2008, 07:29 AM
just FYI, you cant get rid of IE. :)

-ashley

yes I know I just wanted to tell hazel that I still can read her newsletter.. so maybe she will publish another one soon..:D

hazelrunpack
June 6th, 2008, 08:18 AM
yes I know I just wanted to tell hazel that I still can read her newsletter.. so maybe she will publish another one soon..:D


I'm working on it, though the puppy seems to have turned into a toad for this issue :eek:

breeze
June 6th, 2008, 08:20 AM
I'm working on it, though the puppy seems to have turned into a toad for this issue :eek:


now hazel did one of your incantations go wrong :eek:?? :D:D

hazelrunpack
June 6th, 2008, 08:31 AM
now hazel did one of your incantations go wrong :eek:?? :D:D

methinks it must be madame hazel's fault...her crystal ball needs some maintenance... :o

breeze
June 6th, 2008, 08:38 AM
methinks it must be madame hazel's fault...her crystal ball needs some maintenance... :o


:laughing::laughing:

JanM
June 6th, 2008, 09:17 AM
Because of this thread I downloaded Firefox to have a look - and I'm impressed with it! It is much faster than IE. I'll keep trying it out but it looks like I'll be switching to FF as my default browser too...

Thanks!

Jim Hall
June 6th, 2008, 09:17 AM
a lot of times it depends on your operating system mac or windows or w ever and also the Isp folks page loading should be pretty much the same and that depends usually on you isp speed and how well your cpu is running

breeze
June 6th, 2008, 09:29 AM
jim I have windows and high speed.. IE has been giving me problems..it's a new computer.. (about 1 year old) I too downloaded it cause I was curious it is much much faster, and I like it alot.. seems to work better than IE

dmc123
June 6th, 2008, 05:38 PM
dmc123

I couldn't either until a mintue ago..

this is what you do...

click on the video
it will say download plug in..click on it
it will then probably say nothing was installed..click on manuel download..

it will bring you to another page..
close everything else.. and click on it at the top where it says download plug-in something like that....
it will then say what do you want to do I saved it into a file that I created.. once you downloaded it.. then you must find where you saved it to.. click on it and it will install..

then you can see the video..

there might be an easer way but I don't know what it is yet..:D


Hmmm...I just opened it again, there is no video in there to click on. Nothing.

New observation, IE7 openes much quicker to my home page than FF does, but FF new pages are still much faster to open.

Diane

dmc123
June 6th, 2008, 05:43 PM
I have it showing on FF now. I was using http://wavelit.com/index.php?view=EaglesNestLive, with no video, and just below where the video should be was another link. It works great. It was http://wavelit.com/index.php?view=EagleNestLive1.

Still didn't offer me any type of download, but it works well.

Diane

NamaraPets
July 24th, 2008, 09:18 PM
Are people using the latest version of FireFox ?

I haven't upgraded yet - just got used to the old version lol

Any problems / advantages in the new one?

CaptainOlimar
November 30th, 2008, 12:19 PM
I switched to FF a few months ago and will never go back to IE. With IE I was getting error messages that is apparently a coding error that they just don't bother to fix.

FF is reliable and I don't get error messages - great browser.