Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

kittens and male cats

redon
April 8th, 2008, 03:55 PM
Hello I am new here and I have a cat question. I found a stray female calico cat at my doorstep about a month ago. Took her to the Vet and checked out ok but pregnant she has now had her kittens. I have 3 male neutered cats and I have her locked in the basement laundry room. It is warm and cozy in there but she would desperately love to get out and roam with the rest of the clan. I am worried first if she is bored by herself and second will the other cats eat the kittens they are really small and look alot like rats. Does anyone have any experience with raising kittens around grown male cats.

ancientgirl
April 8th, 2008, 04:06 PM
Oh wow, you are an angel for taking this girl in. Thank you for helping her. I've got no experience with newborn kittens and male cats, but I KNOW someone will be along shortly to give you some great advice.

Are you keeping everyone?

chico2
April 8th, 2008, 05:25 PM
I also have no experience with male cats and kittens,however I doubt they would eat them.
Maybe if the mom is able to leave the kittens for a bit,you can introduce her to your boys,but then again it might be a bad idea she is intact,might drive the boys up the wall,even if they are neutered.
There is a girl here,who fostered a cat with kittens,she also had male neutered cats,hopefully she'll give you an answer.

BusterKitty
April 8th, 2008, 06:22 PM
How about introducing the mama and the boys but not the kittens? That way, mama could interact while the kittens are still in the laundry room? I don't know about if adults would eat the little guys but good luck anyways! Thanks for rescuing the girl or else she would've had to give birth outside:sad:

Love4himies
April 8th, 2008, 08:03 PM