Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

worries for dog that isnt mine

xoxo
April 6th, 2008, 06:21 PM
Hi there,

Ive recently come to the states (im english) and I am living with someone who has a dog with a UTI infection (im assuming this at the moment)

The owner is not able to afford treatment and this has been going on for over a month, i think tablets from somewhere (not sure) are on order.

Im very concerned about this dog as shes bleeding through her urine but im also new to this country, not sure how things work here and im also aware that the responsibility of this dog does not lie with me.

Having said that id like to ask for any advice from people about this matter so me and my other housemate could help maybe get this fixed for the dog who is in the meantime suffering.

Thank you

xoxo

luckypenny
April 6th, 2008, 06:31 PM
Welcome to pets.ca, xoxo :) . I think that is very kind of you and your room mate to think of this dog. Is there a veterinarian clinic nearby where you live? She needs to see a vet in order to be prescribed anti-biotics (if it is indeed an infection). It would help if you can bring in a urine sample at the same time.

xoxo
April 6th, 2008, 06:39 PM
Thank you so much for replying

Im sure there is a clininc nearby but my roomate (there are 3 of us) who owns the dog, cannot afford treatment and when i suggested callling a dog charity to see if they could help she was concerned that the dog would be taken from her. (which to be honest i think would probably be the best option as she clearly isnt responsible enough to financially care for an animal)
I have many angry opinions about this as i feel bad for the dog but i dont want to go into that on this forum.

I and my 3rd roomate (who is american but unsure of how to deal with this also) are just very concerned for this animal as it has now been over a month.