Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

How much do you pay a friend to take care of yor dog?

bluesunshine
March 31st, 2008, 11:59 AM
Hi,

I live in Ontario and I have a 6-month-old super hyper golden retriever. I need to go away for about 3 weeks. Instead of hiring a dog walker who walks her 30 minutes a day, I have a friend who has a 12-year-old lab who is very mellow. If my friend agrees to take care of my puppy for me, what is the normal price that you pay for this? I have never done this before, so anyone got any suggestion?

Thanks.

aslan
March 31st, 2008, 12:02 PM
personally if a friend or I look after each others pets for a few days we don't pay each other. We supply the food for the time we're gone and treats. Can't say I would charge a friend.

bluesunshine
March 31st, 2008, 12:05 PM
personally if a friend or I look after each others pets for a few days we don't pay each other. We supply the food for the time we're gone and treats. Can't say I would charge a friend.

oh okay.....but I might need her to take care of my dog for 3 weeks...I would feel better if I pay her a bit....beside, we are not that close..but she is a very nice lady, I haven't asked her, but I hope she will say yes.....her dog is very mellow but mine is a wild one, a handful.....

aslan
March 31st, 2008, 12:12 PM
LOL, i remember it well i have a golden that will be 2yrs in may. psycho puppy. Phone around to bording kennels find out what it would cost and offer her maybe 1/2 what the fee would be.

diandpat
March 31st, 2008, 12:13 PM
Is your dog going to go live at hers? I think about $15-$20/day is about the going rate around here. We pay more when our dogs are watched but we have the sitter move in here and we have two dogs to feed/walk/care for.

Three weeks???? Is that vacation? If so, sounds like a nice break :D

bluesunshine
March 31st, 2008, 12:44 PM