Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

First Vet Visit TODAY!

Chibi
March 20th, 2008, 11:56 AM
Technically, it's Guinness's second, but it's my first time ever - and I am so nervous. I don't know what is normal, what to watch for, what kind of questions to ask...

And my poor baby is getting needles! I'll cry. I hate needles - and I hate them even more when they make my baby cry.

Help? :cry:

Love4himies
March 20th, 2008, 12:16 PM
I find I do worse than my cats when they have to get a needle. They don't even acknowledge it, I cringe and imagine it is going into me:p

Guinness will be fine ;)

Lukka'sma
March 20th, 2008, 12:19 PM
I have never even seen Lukka flinch when she gets a needle. I don't imagine you'll have to much to worry about in that area.
When we first took Lukka to our vet we were sent home with a package explaining dog behavior, dog training, diet and nutrition, play and exercise, etc. Maybe your vet will also have some type of information package too.
You and Guinness will do just fine at the vet:)

Chibi
March 20th, 2008, 12:41 PM
Oh, I really hope so. I will ask for lots of additional information, tips for feeding, grooming, and training. Maybe I should ask about heartworm pills?

rainbow
March 20th, 2008, 12:46 PM
Guinness will be fine and won't even feel the needle. Most vets give an information package to take home for first time puppy owners. Just don't let them talk you into feeding the vet food. :eek:

Chibi
March 20th, 2008, 12:48 PM
OH! My Nanny and my Aunty both buy their daschie's vet food and told me I should do the same. Why would you recommend that I don't get vet food? +curious+

rainbow
March 20th, 2008, 01:02 PM
It's an overpriced bag of grains.

Chibi
March 20th, 2008, 01:21 PM
lol, okay. Thanks. :D

ancientgirl
March 20th, 2008, 02:11 PM