Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

dog/cat hypochondria

heavypetting
March 15th, 2008, 08:29 PM
Hi there,

I was just wondering if anybody here feels like they might be a dog or cat hypochondriac. I have had these impulses myself, always thinking the worst if anything goes wrong with my dog or cats, often to the tune of hundreds of dollars (for unnecessary x-rays, etc).

I am a newspaper writer and I have decided to make this the topic of my next column. I would love to hear stories from anyone (anyone Canadian, that is!) who feels like this might be their weakness as well...

Thanks!

heavypetting
March 15th, 2008, 08:32 PM
http://www.startribune.com/pet_central/11922556.html

hazelrunpack
March 15th, 2008, 09:49 PM
I have eight dogs and could regale you with tales right up your alley. But, alas, we all live in Wisconsin. :p

:D

MOOSEDRY
March 15th, 2008, 10:02 PM
hi heavy petting.

i found your theory very interesting.

in all honestly, though, i wouldn't put it down to people being "hypochondriac" when it comes to our pets. i believe we pet owners react strongly to the first sign of a problem due to the fact that, by the time a pet starts to exhibit unusual changes to their schedule or shows other symptoms, there can already be something that needs attention (cats especially are known for hiding their illnesses until something is seriously wrong).

also, animals, like babies, can't tell us what's wrong or where it hurts or how they are feeling. so, sometimes we've reacted to something that turns out to be nothing, other times it turns out to be life and death. i've experienced both - reacting too quickly, reacting too slowly. moving too slowly cost my cat his life, so if i tend to become concerned quickly over big symptoms, i guess it's because i would rather err on the side of caution.