Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Do you Own or Rent-how to persuade landlords

mauimona
February 14th, 2008, 12:34 AM
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this group, but I'm glad I found it. I am wondering how many of you own, and how many of you rent, and how has being a renter affected your pet love-life? I currently own, but will be renting and find I get met with a few negative attitudes from the No pets allowed groupies.

I am a responsible pet owner with 1 lab and two small poodles. They are all indoor dogs, and they all sleep in their preferred humans bed! They were raised in a condo and have good condo manners.

The funny thing is I am a property manager, and only three of the owners I manage rentals for will allow pets. The point being I have to tell people all day long, no pets allowed. As an agent I represent the out of state owners, and need to abide by their wishes for their property. Generally speaking people renting out their own property are much more open about allowing pets.

I am thinking of drafting my "chilanaimals" (the combination of children/animals) =) a resume with pictures to include when I make appointments to look for a rental. Any other suggestions? Has anyone faced this before and overcame the naysayers?

Glad to be part of the group!
Mona

kashtin's kin
February 14th, 2008, 01:14 AM
Welcome to this BB (it's helped me out tons :D); I'm sure you will get some helpful feed back re: the rental vs. owning etc. issue. It sounds like you have a real head start on things by actually being right in the rental field as a property manager.

As a multi-critterkeeper, I've rented, and owned (DH and I have had a tiny farm-gotta have room for the ponies!) for the past decade or so. Before that, we rented for a couple of years when we 'just' had 2 dogs and 4 inside cats; we were lucky enough to find half of a house where the landlady lived downstairs...and had 2 dogs of her own.