Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Puppy not wanting to eat in morning

ariesroxy
February 12th, 2008, 04:16 PM
Hello, this is my first time posting on this so I hope I'm doing it right haha. I just got a puppy the weekend before Christmas. I believe I got her from a reputable breeder from Holly, CO because I heard only great things about them from friends and people who knew who they were.

When I got Roxy she was covered in feces when they pulled her out of the kennel. (They delivered her to us because they had family they were seeing out here.) I thought maybe she went to the bathroom in it, or her brothers and sisters did, when they were traveling here (about a 4 hour trip). That didn't bother me at first.

I took her home, washed her up, and I thought it would be okay. Well about a week later I noticed she was scratching her ear abnormally, so I took her into the vet. The vet diagnosed her with a yeast infection in her ear, perscribed me drops, and it cleared up.

After the ear mess, she was diagnosed with Giardia, which I can't understand how she got... I put her on medication for that, and now that's cleared up.

About 2 weeks after the Giardia, she had 2 roundworms. I wormed her, she's do for her 2nd batch of worming today. She has only passed the 2 worms, and hopefully no more after today.

Well I noticed she was urinating frequently not too long ago, took her back into the vet and they proscibed Amoxicillin, even though they did not see any abnormalities in her urine. They said just incase.

Well about 3 days ago, she stopped eating breakfast in the morning. I'll get home at lunch and let her eat, and she inhales the food like it's going out of style. I have her on Nutro Puppy Lamb and Rice. She was eating like crazy, now she just picks at it, and eats when she's starving. Is this normal? Do you think the Amox. could be causing her stomach to be upset?

I don't know what could be wrong with her. It's really bugging me.