Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Concerned parent

scrum949
February 6th, 2008, 05:02 PM
Hello to all,

I am new to this, so please bear with me. I am a pet owner (50+ years) and I love 'em all. Even more so when they aren't doing so well.

We have a miniature Dachshund that was diagnosed with Valley Fever (coccidiomycosis) some years ago and has been on Fluconozole for most of that time. Recently, we were advised by a new vet to take her off of the medication and did so. She has been experiencing what appear to be psychomotor seizures/events ever since. Is it possible that the Valley Fever has remanifested and is causing this, or could it be a reaction to taking her off the medication? Just today she had what could be described as a Grand Mal event and it lasted 30 minutes, as opposed to the normal 10 seconds. We're very worried about our 6-year old Minnie. Any ideas?

chico2
February 6th, 2008, 05:16 PM
I don't know if it is the same as in humans,but I have an epileptic son and if he had 30 min seizures,they would very likely cause brain-damage.
I am really sorry to hear about little Minnie,but if this is what happens,should she not be back on the meds:shrug:
I forgot to say,Welcome To Our Forum!!
I am sure you'll get better answers,if you stick around a while.:fingerscr

hazelrunpack
February 6th, 2008, 06:38 PM
Hi, scrum949. Welcome to the board. I'm sorry the circumstances aren't better. :grouphug:

I don't have any experience with coccidioidmycosis, but I found this snippet online at http://www.vin.com/VINDBPub/SearchPB/Proceedings/Pr05000/pr00203.htm:

Treatment