Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Pets and cold weather

MerlinsHope
January 29th, 2008, 06:24 AM
Is there anyone here who lives in areas like Yellowknife and has to contend with extreme cold weather and the needs of a dog?

I'm reading this morning that the temperature is -45C which is so cold I don't want to even know.

How do people deal with having to let their pets out for latrine duty? Dog walking? and things like that in weather like this.

I like to hear from people who have to face this regularly. Anyone?

Thanks

wolfcat
January 29th, 2008, 06:52 AM
Observation: Its not just Yellowknife thats sees -40 deg C, the entire West of Canada is in a cold snap.

Being in Toronto I may not look like I have a clue (+2 degrees and raining, lol) but I was born in Winnipeg and have family in Saskatchewan and friends in Calgary. 'nuff said.

Cope? Like people. fast short walks, put coats on the pooches and realize:

"If it's too cold for you, it's too cold for them"

(Likewise in HOT weather, do NOT leave Rover locked in a hot car with windows rolled up and no water)

rhynes
January 29th, 2008, 08:30 AM
Yep, it's -35 here all night, looking at -40 by morning... The dog went out for a long pee this morning, came in and went straight to his cage and started yelping. Probably from the cold in his feet. Put him on a heating pad and he's happy as a lark now.

Gotta find those booties...

want4rain
January 29th, 2008, 10:36 AM
while not -45*c, in MI USA we made sure we left the feet and belly fur long on our cocker spaniels, they took short short walks, sometimes not even off the back deck!

i know several members have booties and sweaters for their dogs. i was brain storming a pair of leg warmers for a friends Doxie. they live in Duluth MN which gets *quite* cold. i also know some other northern folks who have smaller toy dogs who use a litter box of sorts.

-ash

geisha
January 29th, 2008, 05:58 PM