Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Food Question

Winston
January 21st, 2008, 07:58 PM
So I have been feeding Winston Orijen Dog food now for at least 6 months...Awesome food and really pleased as it solved some problems Winston has had for years! So now his coat has this white film all over it? if you are wearing black he leaves a big white spot on your clothes and it is really hard to come off?? a simple brushing off your pants and it doesnt come off? if you look at his coat it is like a fine white powder?? he has started to scratch for the past couple of days which he really hasnt done much of for months? So my question is whats up? is it the food? whats he missing? I give him yogurt once in awhile and eats some veggies..No table scraps..

I was thinking if I added an egg to his dinner would that help him with his coat and the dry skin?

Cindy

Tommysmom
January 21st, 2008, 08:05 PM
I've been noticing on quite a few message boards (sorry - I'm a message board addict and read tons of other ones, but I only really post here!) that people are reporting problems with fur after being on Orijen for a few months - shedding, losing patches, dandruff, all kinds of stuff. I haven't noticed anything with Tommy since he's been on it, but then he's a terrier and sheds like a fiend and has wiry hair anyway so I'm not sure I'd be able to tell, lol.

It just seems to be coming up for discussion over and over again... I wonder if there's something missing and/or something in the formula causing issues?

We used to allllllways add a raw egg to our dogs' dinner to help their coats when I was growing up, and it always did wonders for them... mind you, that was back when Gravy Train was considered a good dog food, so maybe we just didn't know what we were doing:shrug::laughing:.

luckypenny
January 21st, 2008, 08:52 PM