Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Thinking of fostering...

waste of paint
January 11th, 2008, 01:39 PM
I've been thinking about this for a while, and I think that I am ready to handle it now. I'm a student but I'm only gone for 2-3 hours maximum a couple of days a week, and I do all of my studying at home. My building doesn't allow dogs, but I can have cats or any other small mammals/reptiles. I have a couple of concerns though:

- I have a kitten, and he eats raw. I can feed separately but I can't leave dry food lying about because he's a little piggie.

- I live in a studio apartment, meaning the only way I can separate Tommy and the foster animal(s) is by putting one in the bathroom.

- I'm not sure if I'm allowed to bring animals on the bus/metro if I have to bring them to the vet or adoption events. I have a small cage and I am willing to do so if it is possible, though.

- I can't take care of another animal financially, except for buying food if I can feed a homecooked or raw diet (as this only costs me about $10-15/month at the moment). I know some places take care of vet bills, and this is what I would need.

Do you guys think I'd qualify? I know I'm not the ideal foster home, but my heart breaks when I see all of the rescue listings but I can't provide a permanent home right now, and I really really want to help. :(

Frenchy
January 11th, 2008, 01:44 PM
You can start by calling Montreal spca. They give you food for the fosters and if they need to see a vet (you have to bring them to their vets) it will only cost you $5.00 per visit.

poodletalk
January 11th, 2008, 01:59 PM
HI Waste of Paint,

You can also contact Steri-Animal which is a great group that focuses on trap and release of feral cats.

Many times, the female cats have kittens and they need foster homes for the kittens. Also, if the cat isn't feral, they take it into their rescue and foster homes are always needed.