Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

getting fixed

kit1469
January 10th, 2008, 05:46 PM
is it safe to get ur female cat fixed when shes in heat?? my cat has an appointment in a few days and she went into heat... i called the vet and they said it was okay but ive never heard of it being alright .. can anyone help me??

hazelrunpack
January 10th, 2008, 05:53 PM
I have no cat experience and it may be different for cats...but vets will spay a dog that's in heat if necessary. They prefer not to because the rate of complications is slightly higher if the animal is in heat--just because of all the extra vascularity, I think. Often as a result, spaying a dog in heat costs more because they have to be watched more closely for problems.

If cats are different, I'm sure someone with more feline experience than ol' hazel will be by shortly! :o

kit1469
January 10th, 2008, 06:25 PM
maybe i dunno .. its not urgent tho we are willing to wait untill she isnt in heat anymore... im so confused ..

Dracko
January 10th, 2008, 06:59 PM
I just went through this. My one kitten went in to heat. The vet said they do spay them but it might cost more as their is more chance of excess bleeding. As it turned out Teiya's heat cycle lasted about 4 days so by the time I took her in a day or so later it was all over.

kit1469
January 10th, 2008, 07:01 PM
hmm ... well i hope that happens for me..

14+kitties
January 10th, 2008, 07:09 PM
This is the post I sent Dracko when she was going through the same thing.

I was googling stuff this morning and found this site. It has lots of interesting info that you might find useful. It also explains why vets prefer not to spay while kitties are in heat. Hope it helps and good luck.

http://www.cochraneanimalclinic.ca/i...euter_Cats.pdf

mona_b
January 11th, 2008, 01:12 AM
Yes it can be done.