Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Saying "hi", and introducing myself

dhall5
January 5th, 2008, 12:44 AM
Hi.

I am new to this site, and hope that I can both educate myself, and educate others, depending on the issue.

Obviously, animals are an important part of my life. We have 5 furry family members (2 dogs/3 cats), 4 of whom were adopted, and 1 (a dog) who my husband found emaciated at a gas station about 4 years ago.

As of last July, I had the good fortune to be able to quit my full-time career, in order to stay home and foster kittens, as well as volunteer for various animal rescue groups. Currently, I'm on my 3rd group of fosters, newborn kittens found 2 days ago at a construction site near the Strip (I live in Las Vegas). There are 4 little guys, and this is my first time caring for newborns; so far so good. Everyone is eating well, staying warm, and relieving themselves according to what I've read on numerous newborn kitten websites. Thankfully, my husband helps me, because this is no easy feat (but so worth it)!

It will be fun watching everyone develop, from their little eyes opening, to them being able to hear, to seeing their little teeth coming in, and finally to see their drunken gaits turn into sprints across our hardwood floors (and the inevitable sliding and crashing into the wall).

We also feed 2 stray cats (and the odd feral) who live in my neighborhood.

For those who have never fostered, it is the best "job" in the world! But keep in mind that it is NEVER, EVER easy to say goodbye; you just have to tell yourself that their forever homes will be as loving as yours was, and that they'll get more hugs and kisses than you gave them. Because of you, these animals got the chance that those in kill shelters or on the street probably won't.

Winston
January 5th, 2008, 07:38 AM