Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Hi, I'm new here

Baby Boston
November 25th, 2007, 09:31 AM
Hello, everyone. So, I've never done this before--up front apologies if anything goes wrong. I'm new to dog owning--my brother got my daughters a Boston Terrier puppy a few months ago and now I can't imagine my life without little Handsome Jack. Here's the problem that I need help with: Friday (it's now Sunday) he was bitten on the leg by my neighbor's dog. It seemed just a surface scratch, and he didn't yelp or anything. Actually, the two dogs normally are friends. Jack was fine on Friday, and most of Saturday--a little limping but no biggee. Last night and today his limping is pretty bad- he won't put any pressure on it. The bite site doesn't look bad at all...no swelling, no oozing, no funny colors. He's not bleeding, vomiting, no diarrhea. It's really just the limping that's got me concerned. What do you all think? Am I being an overprotective mom here?:pawprint:

kiara
November 25th, 2007, 11:26 AM
Hi and welcome to the forum. We will need pictures of your puppy. Since this is a puppy and I presume that the other dog may be big, I would take your puppy to a vet for a check-up. Just to be sure. Have a talk with the dog's owners and ask politely if their dog has bitten other dogs before or shown aggresion? Next time there may be a need for stitches, who knows, dogs really can be unpredictable. My mother had an incident like this with her poodle. Her neighbor's big dog bit Max and he needed stitches. The dog's owners had a real "attitude" and she would keep her dog away from them. Let alone the extra cost for vet bills.

mummummum
November 25th, 2007, 11:55 AM
Welcome to pets.ca! And an absolute YES! to the request for pix!

How is your puppy feeling today? If he is still limping today, I also suggest a Vet check as there could be ligament or nerve damage.

Baby Boston
November 25th, 2007, 01:20 PM