Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

I'm new with a new puppy - help

lorilies
October 11th, 2007, 08:18 AM
I am getting a new puppy on Saturday but have a few questions first. The dog's mother is pure bred Golden Retriever and the father is black lab with a little german shepherd. He looks exactly like a black lab though. My questions are as follows:
Is bringing the puppy home at 6 weeks too early or should I leave her another week with her siblings and parents?

Also, any tips on training these dogs as this is my first time with a dog. I have two cats at home now.

Thanks
Lori

Roscoe's Mom
October 11th, 2007, 11:24 AM
Hi and congrats on getting your new pup! Most vets say 6 weeks is ok - however, the way the pup acts, eats, etc. is probably a better indication of whether he's ready or not. Is he bouncy, yappy, and act healthy? Another important thing to look out for is if he is social with people.

As far as training, you have a wealth of information both in books and online. Just search out Labs, Goldens, and Shepherds. Also you've joined this group and you'll get loads of help and support from many, many people with years and years of experience.

I personally have a Lab mixed with a Golden, and a Golden mixed with Lab - One looks and acts like a Lab and one looks and acts like a Golden! They are both PRECIOUS PETS! They make wonderfully faithful and loyal pets, yet don't underestimate their penchant for getting into mischief because they will. They do not mature until near or after the age of 2, so don't expect a little adult very soon! :angel: Labs have some personality PLUS - mine dances and prances and at 12 acts like a puppy! Goldens are VERY clingy and cuddly - mine would meld into my skin to be just to be close to me.