Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

new here-need help with sick dog

luvmybuddy
October 7th, 2007, 05:35 PM
i am new to this but had to try everything i could to help my dog buddy. he started vomiting friday evening and is becoming more and more lethargic. i took him to the vet saturday morning and he said that since he had no fever it must be the bones in the turkey neck he ate earlier in the day. he has been on a raw diet (the turkey neck was a smoked treat not the raw ones i usually give) and solid gold kibble-i alternate between the solid gold and natural balance. my other 2 dogs ate the same thing with no problems. i no longer buy supermarket brands, they have been on this diet since the food recall so i don't think it was his food. anyway, he has eaten no food and can drink very little water and his vomit is now green. the vet had given me something for nausea but he threw that up too. he is a pit bull, about a year and a half. he has been in excellent health til now. i have a huge fenced yard but no poisonous weeds so i think i can rule that out. this morning i thought he might be a little better and did not take him back (the vet was going to meet me if he was worse), but as the day progresses i think he is really getting worse and very uncomfortable. what can i do to help him? i am afraid he might have pancreatitis as i read that it will cause green vomit. i will certainly carry him to the vet in the morning but am so scared that the longer i wait without doing anything the more chance he could get in such a condition that he can't come out of. i have a call in to the vet now to try to get him to see him tonight but he hasn't called back. this dog has been my best friend and i can't bear to see him feel so bad, so any advice would be greatly appreciated!

luckypenny
October 7th, 2007, 06:14 PM
I would definitely get him back to the vet's asap, especially if he's progressively getting worse.