Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Euro Puppy Boston Airport Customs Question

BUGSEY
September 30th, 2007, 11:45 AM
I hopefully will be picking up my 2.5 month old puppy arriving from Europe on Air Lufthansa at Boston Airport. I'm getting worried as I've never done this before and am wondering about the procedure. A friend will bring the pup over. My question is whether my friend is responsible to clear at customs or does he deposit the pup and then I would have to do the clearance procedure? Is the customs in the same building, is it difficult to get to the customs offices?
I'm Canadian and will be traveling from Toronto to Boston, would that be an issue? Because I will be bringing the pup which hasn't had the rabies shot back to Canada I will have to give a Canadian address for the rabies quarantine papers. Any advice or comments would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much for any advice!!!
Bugs

satchelp
September 30th, 2007, 01:01 PM
Your friend will have to clear customs with the dog at Logan. I don't know where that is but if the puppy is flying as baggage, they should be cleared at the customs area in the airport itself. If the puppy is flying cargo, the customs facility could be off-site. Here is some info from the US gov't about bringing dogs into the country:

http://www.foreignborn.com/visas_imm/entering_us/2bringyourpet.htm#dogs

I'm not sure why you are mentioning quarantine. If the puppy is indeed under 3 months of age, the rabies shot is not required. Here are the Canadian regulations with regard to importing dogs.

http://www.inspection.gc.ca/english/anima/heasan/import/dog_chien_1e.shtml

CyberKitten
September 30th, 2007, 04:27 PM