Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

skin irritation? I don't know what to do anymore...

huskeylover
September 27th, 2007, 07:25 PM
Hello to everyone
I'm brand new to the sistem so I'm still trying to work out all the tricks.
I have a beautiful all white siberian huskey she is my baby and I love her to death. But for quite some time she has had these sort of scabs on her skin, but only on her belly, neck and thighs. We took her to the vet and he suggested we change our floor cleaning formula... we did and the problem is still there. She is itching constantly and I was very upset at the fact that the problem did not stop, so i took her back to the vet to see if i could get some sort of cream of meds. The vet then told me that white dogs are more prone to have skin alergies since they lack skin melanine. He gave me oral cortizon for a week. It stopped the itching but not the flacking and the scabs.
I really need help. As far as food goes she is an extremly picky eater she does not like dog food except for certain ones and only for a certain amount of time as well. Whenever i comb her fur the comb comes out with hair and you can see the pieces of dead skin on the comb (flaking) it worries me and the vets seem to not be helpping enough! any thought???
Thank You[/FONT]

rainbow
September 28th, 2007, 12:06 AM
It sounds like it could be hot spots and I would take her to a diffferent vet. How old is she and what are you feeding her? :pawprint:

huskeylover
September 28th, 2007, 02:14 PM
she is going to be 2 on november 14th.
we feed her nutro, eukanuba or purina one. We switch them up every now and then because she gets bored and dosen't want to eat. She will literally strave herself. And even though I know its bad we feed her human food!!.
like meats, fish, and chicken.
I have taken her to 2 different vets both dont say whats wrong and insist on giving me oral or topical meds, that only make the itching and the flaking go away for short time.